Returning to Normal Firmware

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by GunstarX, Dec 19, 2009.

Dec 19, 2009

Returning to Normal Firmware by GunstarX at 9:53 PM (1,212 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. GunstarX
    OP

    Newcomer GunstarX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    My friend wants to return his Wii to normal firmware. he has Homebrew Channel and 3.2U Custom Firmware. Should he just use the normal Nintendo Update? Or will it brick him if he tries? Should he get rid of the HBC first?
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    unless he has a Korean wii (that was region changed to U) or cIOSCorp installed, updating will probably remove most hacks.

    The newest HBC will resist the update though, so you'll have to remove it with hackmii
     
  3. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there is no such thing as custom firmware or normal firmware. system menu is exactly the same either way. maybe has a few starfall/startpatch patches, but still identical for the majority. and a few IOS may be patched or whatever, but it's still not a custom firmware.
     
  4. GunstarX
    OP

    Newcomer GunstarX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    Oh. Well, whatever. He has an American Wii with 3.2U. No cIOSCorp. Will it brick him if he does a Nintendo Update and return to normal? He doesn't care if it gets rid of his HBC, he just wants to return to normal.
     
  5. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    It will not brick him and doing an update will brick if you turn off Wii. It will return to normal, as well. It also updates the boot2, so you can't install Bootmii as boot2. Read up about it @ http://wiibrew.org/wiki/System_Menu_4.2
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Um, not really correct
    It will just overwrite boot2 (if you haven't gotten v4 yet), but you can still re-install bootmii if you could before the update (aka if you have a vulnerable boot1)
     
  7. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which if he has 3.2, he DOES. In other words, after update, he can (re)install BootMii as boot2 if he so desires.
     
  8. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry. I thought it might not allow you to install it again.
     
  9. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    once exploited, always exploited.
     
  10. vegemikee

    Member vegemikee GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    Australia
    but nintendo are too newb to see that
     

Share This Page