1. Notshane

    OP Notshane GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so I updated Retroarch from the Switch Homebrew Appstore. I have no idea what happened, but after I changed over to Ozone, the software bricked and now I can no longer boot into it at all.

    I know there is a way to change the configuration through a text file in the microSD, so I want to know where that file is so that I can unbrick the software. And also where I can find a version of Ozone that loads on the current Retroarch on Switch, because for some reason, the update did not update Ozone, the theory I'm going by. Since it would make sense with the other UI being fine and I know Ozone was already its own problem with how it never stayed open and would infrequently change over to another UI based on the way certain things were loaded.

    It has been a year now since the Switch has gotten Retroarch, so I am hoping I can get more help about it now than I did back then.
     
  2. Notshane

    OP Notshane GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    United States
    And yes, I just realized I posted in the wrong category, I am very sorry. I thought I was in Switch - Exploits, Custom Firmwares & Soft Mods.
     
  3. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    United States
    since you gave out so little info, fat32 or exfat?
     
  4. Notshane

    OP Notshane GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    United States
    I mean, I figured all I needed to know was where the file was that has the configuration for which GUI loads first. I didn't think I needed to specify more information, but it's exFAT.
     
  5. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    United States
    retroarch works best with fat32 as exfat can corrupt your sd card, for now reinstall your files for cfw and only run retroarch with full ram access
     
  6. designgears

    designgears GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    United States
    Open up the main config and change it back, also, exfat and retroarch is a corruption bound nightmare. Move to fat32 or don't bother with retroarch.
     
  7. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    United States
  8. tinkle

    tinkle taciturn shill girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Country:
    United States
    Found your problem
     
  9. crazy_p

    crazy_p GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Delete your retroarch.cfg File in your Retroarch Folder and try again.
    Btw its better to switch to Fat32 like the other People mentioned.

    Oh yeah and download Retroarch from here, your Appstore installs Retroarch just partially.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2019
  10. Notshane

    OP Notshane GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you! It loaded up Ozone just fine after I removed that CFG and it seems to be working just fine now. In fact, it is running better than it did before. Only issue I have left are some games from one of my setup playlists saying "File could not be loaded from playlist." But, I think I can manage that on my own. I am just glad it works again. Thank you so much.

    I did download Retroarch online. I just updated it on the Appstore.

    I talked with somebody else on here for quite a while about whether or not exFAT or FAT32 were better and a lot said exFAT was, so I am not going to bother going through all of this again, really. Unless somebody gives me a lot more ground in the argument as to why FAT32 is better, I am sticking with exFAT.
     
    crazy_p likes this.
  11. tinkle

    tinkle taciturn shill girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Country:
    United States
    The exFAT driver that Nintendo uses is junk. Every time you close a homebrew app, you risk corrupting the whole memory card. I can't imagine why you would think that was the better choice.
     
  12. Notshane

    OP Notshane GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't allow more than 4GB on a single file and I have a lot of resources on here that exceed that limit.
     
  13. Pipistrele

    Pipistrele GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Messages:
    397
    Country:
    Russia
    So far, FAT32 had no known instances of data being randomly corrupted, while exFAT had a ton of reports on data being randomly corrupted. In fact, the whole "Pokemon Sword & Shield breaks your SD card" debacle a month ago was exactly a result of people using exFAT-formatted SD cards. I hope that's enough of a ground.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2019
  14. Fugelmir

    Fugelmir GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    Canada
    I had a similar experience. I boot with an exfat card strictly for switch games, and an alternate card for homebrew like retroarch.
     
    Mchi5 likes this.
  15. shano

    shano GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    Australia
    You can split 4GB files.
     
  16. Skirlez

    Skirlez GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    234
    Country:
    Israel
    You should switch to FAT32.
    exFAT can store files larger than 4gb,
    Which is good for pirated stuff, basically the only thing above 4Gb related to switch modding.
    However, you can split said files
    Or USB Install them via Tinfoil or Goldleaf.

    Of course, if you really want exFAT, you can stay on it, but when your SD card eventually corrupts don't say we didn't warn you.
     
    Jakeeenator likes this.
  17. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    As others have said. Retroarch = FAT32.
    If you just play commercial games only exFAT works great. You can get corruption using retroarch and exFAT combo.
     
    Mchi5 likes this.
  18. Mchi5

    Mchi5 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Have the same setup as you but took it a step further. My main 400gb card is exfat and sx os (because started on exfat) and only for switch games. and my secondary card is a 200gb fat32, with atmosphere so can run retroarch and emualtors. The perfect setup for me .
     
    Fugelmir likes this.
  19. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,868
    Country:
    United States
    Personally, the Hardware section is the best for bricks as the term "brick" refers to a type of hardware issue. However the moderators felt that the Homebrew section fit better as your brick was due a homebrew application. The least fitting category is definitely the Exploits/CFW/Soft Mods as nothing about your post deals with exploits, CFW or a soft mod.
     
  20. Askot

    Askot Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Mexico
    You must hear to everyone else: use FAT32, if you want to keep exFat and get corrupted again, dont complain if corruption files strikes back, I used Retroarch and magically I started to get data corrupted messages,
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Retroarch, (Switch), Bricked