1. Smoker1

    Smoker1 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2,887
    Country:
    United States

    Vita2D is the Default I think. Being used, as I do not change it. All Settings are Default.
    FBA has same Issue. FBA2012 seems to do MUCH better, but no Cheats can be used.
     
    THYPLEX likes this.
  2. ChiefReginod

    ChiefReginod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    For anyone having trouble with Manual Scan (ie, your DAT/XML file isn't listed in the file browser when trying to specify an Arcade DAT), check the comments here for a workaround:

    https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/issues/9894

    Short version:
    Settings > Directory > File Browser - must be set to a folder on the same drive as your ROMs and DAT file. Any folder will do, it just has to be set to one on the same drive.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2019
  3. barbudreadmon

    barbudreadmon Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    France
    Oh, so your previous statement was not about comparing fbneo to earlier version of fbneo, maybe you should be careful with words, it's misleading.
    Yeah, fbneo is more accurate & featured than the old fork, hence the higher requirements, and while we try to keep things playable on old machines (some people in the team are using 20 years old computers) we can't do miracles for even slower machines.
    Whatever, i gave you the core options that might help with your case, feel free to toy with them or to use the old fork.
     
    THYPLEX likes this.
  4. Smoker1

    Smoker1 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2,887
    Country:
    United States
    They were working better before though. Especially FBA.
     
    THYPLEX likes this.
  5. barbudreadmon

    barbudreadmon Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    France
    Better is different from faster.
    Furthermore, with the cyclone & emulated cpu underclocking features, fbneo can probably be faster than fbalpha2012 for cps emulation, while still providing a better emulation.
    I don't think running cps at full speed with fbalpha2012 on psvita is possible in the first place, psvita seems worse than a raspberry pi 1 in terms of raw performance, and raspberry pi 1 can't play cps at full speed with fbalpha2012, it might be possible with fbneo and smart core options choices though.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2019
  6. Danethos86

    Danethos86 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Hope someday nswitch can play GameCube,vita, and so on without android os though retroarch
    And hope better nds support on nswitch soon
     
  7. Smoker1

    Smoker1 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2,887
    Country:
    United States
    FBA2012 seems to work perfectly. Only problem is that Cheats can not be Searched for or even Used if you have them. FBA was working perfectly as well. Cheats could be created, used, and could run pretty much any CPS1/2 Game with no Issues noticed. Now, it is like only 2012 is good.
     
  8. matpower

    matpower A Hero of Justice
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    968
    Country:
    Brazil
    Just tried and it seems like the improved gpSP core is there on Vita. GBA Doom ran at silky smooth 60fps without overclocking, pretty nice.
     
  9. barbudreadmon

    barbudreadmon Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    France
    No they don't "work perfectly", cps's qsound emulation was inaccurate and got upgraded in may 2019, maybe 1 week before we changed name, which is what bumped hardware requirements.
    We don't plan on reverting back to inaccurate emulation because someone doesn't want to optimize his settings (as i said, it's probably just a matter of tuning core options) on a device that is slower than a 20 years old computer, so feel free to keep using fbalpha2012 if you are fine with inaccurate sound in cps games.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2019
  10. jamespoo

    jamespoo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    New Zealand
    sounds good
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - RetroArch, released,