Gaming Retrieving some data off an IDE HDD

Shakraka

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So, yeah, as the title states, I have an old IDE HDD from my old computer with some data I need. I really want to avoid hooking it up to my computer because I only plan to use it once, and I have no experience with IDE HDDs.

So, anyone know how I can copy the files I have on my IDE HDD without installing it inside my computer? I really don't want to download the Macross 7 R2 DVD remasters again...

Thanks in advance.

Elritha

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Canada
The easiest option would be to hook it up to your pc I'm afraid. There are other options but it'd just be more complicated and cost money. If you're uncertain how to hook up the drive, I'd suggest you look up a few tutorials online.

moose3

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
This is what you need, a USB to IDE adapter, posted in an earlier thread. I have a similar unit, works nicely. You hook the box end into the hard drive, and the other into the computer through USB, connect the power adapter, wait for it to load, and you have your data. It's slower transfer speeds than hooking the drive into the system directly, but if it's just for 1 game, or you just don't want to open the case, then it's a good deal.

Just be sure that you have it on a stable surface. Don't yank the cords around, or un-plug it till windows says it's safe to remove. Then pull out the usb cable from the comp, and finally turn off the drive's power. I had a drive get toasted when it slipped off the desk while it was still active. Luckilly I had already gotten the data I needed.

Shakraka

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Thanks for the help moose, but I don't want to order from DX since I'm too impatient and I really want to finish watching Macross 7.