1. eliboa

    eliboa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    France
    Serial Number and device id can be retrieved from play reports or journal/creport in SYSTEM partition (not on "never used" console obviously). But I think certs are only stored in CAL0.
    And yes, I think it's possible to restore certs from another console but you'll have to recalculate the SHA256 hash for the new cert (and cal0 data hash)
     
    Last edited by eliboa, Aug 21, 2019
  2. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,034
    Country:
    Norway
    The code for calculating the hashes is in Incognito so that part is easy. But I have a feeling there's more to it than that.
     
    eliboa likes this.
  3. MikiFanta

    OP MikiFanta Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Italy
    I will try to do that, thank you

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    So... What do I have to do?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I tried, but the program hasn't found the file that I was searching. Thanks anyway.
     
  4. eliboa

    eliboa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    France
    You can't do anything. Even if you could retrieve S/N & device id from journal, you'll still need a new client cert and the only way to get one is to extract it from another console. Basically, if you loose your prodinfo backup, you're screwed. You need a new Switch to play online (and keep the old one for CFW). You should have made a NAND backup before using a CFW, everybody should.

    Yeah me too..
     
    ELY_M likes this.
  5. MikiFanta

    OP MikiFanta Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks everyone. I think I will buy a Nintendo Switch Lite for play online and I'll take anyway the "old" switch for play offline games.
     
    ELY_M likes this.
  6. intellettuanale

    intellettuanale GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    Italy
    Is it possible to restore a prodinfo.bin from another console?
     
  7. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,628
    Country:
    United States
    Theoretically possible? Yes. Why hasn't anyone done it yet? Its not practical.
     
  8. MikiFanta

    OP MikiFanta Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Italy
    So... If I have a friend that doesn't want to play online I can take his prodinfo file?
     
  9. eliboa

    eliboa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    France
    You will not be able to restore the whole partition from another console's prodinfo. I tried, it doesn't work.
    It may work if you only restore some parts of CAL0 such as client cert, device id,... but I didn't try. Maybe it will work with incognito's restore feature becauseit does partial restore and it regenerates hashes.
     
  10. intellettuanale

    intellettuanale GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    Italy
    So, is not possible to unban a console with a prodinfo from another one, right?
     
  11. eliboa

    eliboa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    France
    This is not what i'm saying. You can't restore the entire PRODINFO partition from another console. I tried to do it, it doesn't work.
    What I did was :
    - dump then decrypt PRODINFO from console A
    - encrypt it using bis keys from console B
    - restore PRODINFO to console B

    BUT you may be able to unban a console by restoring only some parts of PRODINFO/CAL0 (not the whole partition), basically by replacing the client cert (at least). This is theoretical, i didn't try.
     
    Last edited by eliboa, Aug 23, 2019
    intellettuanale likes this.
  12. MikiFanta

    OP MikiFanta Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Italy
    Just installed Photorec. Now I'm trying to restore the file using this program. I'm pretty sure that it will work because it's restoring very old files..
     
    gjimenezf likes this.
  13. gjimenezf

    gjimenezf Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Ecuador
    Try to restore the atmosphere folder too, because atmosphere makes backups files of prodinfo in that folder
     
  14. MikiFanta

    OP MikiFanta Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Italy
    Ok.. The restore of the files is over. All the files that the program has restored have a different name from the original one (fxxxxx).. How can I recognize the file that I want?
     
  15. MikiFanta

    OP MikiFanta Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Italy
    Ok, I found a way to recognize the file. But i need to know the size of prodinfo.bin..
     
  16. eliboa

    eliboa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    France
    4 176 896 bytes (4 079 kiB)
     
    Last edited by eliboa, Aug 23, 2019
  17. MikiFanta

    OP MikiFanta Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Italy
    I found another way.. Can someone send me the hash of the file?
     
  18. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,096
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Prodinfo is unique to your console, so nobody else would have the same hash.
     
  19. eliboa

    eliboa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    France
    Find all files matching the expected size (4 176 896 B), open each file one by one with HxD. If the four first bytes are 0x43414C30 ("CAL0" in string), then it's prodinfo.bin.
     
  20. MikiFanta

    OP MikiFanta Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Italy
    I don't have any files with that size (4176,896 Kb) ... Do you think that the program hasn't found prodinfo?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I found a strange file... There are things like "Stuck dump" "tsl dump"... Is that the file?
     
  21. MikiFanta
    This message by MikiFanta has been removed from public view by Quantumcat, Aug 25, 2019, Reason: Bumping.
    Aug 24, 2019
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PRODINFO, RESTORE,