resizing a wbfs partition

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by lou_weed, Apr 10, 2009.

Apr 10, 2009

resizing a wbfs partition by lou_weed at 12:22 PM (2,571 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. lou_weed
    OP

    Member lou_weed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    Israel
    Hi

    I have a 320GB WD passport split into 2 partitions of 160GB each.
    As I realized I would need more space in the Wii partition later on , I tried to enlarge the first (wbfs) partition.
    I am able to play (and right now trying to rip) games from the wii , but wbfs_win delta says it got invalid number of sectors...
    Is there any way to update the FAT sectors of the wbfs partition , so it will be updated for the new partition size ?

    thanks,
    lou
     
  2. denpanosekai

    Newcomer denpanosekai Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Canada
  3. wiiNinja

    Member wiiNinja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    Nothing that libwbfs or any current tools will allow you to do, but I think that information is stored on the first sector of the wbfs partition. So if you want to do some coding, you may be able to just change that value to reflect the current partition size.

    BTW, what did you use to resize the partition? Partition Magic?
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,353
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    only thing you can do is delete the partition and create a new larger one. you'll lose everything though.
     
  5. denpanosekai

    Newcomer denpanosekai Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Canada
    Question about the 320 GB passport (nothing to do with USB Loader...)

    My girlfriend has this and gave me permission to use it for the Wii [​IMG]

    but when I look at it in Partition Master (windows app for partitions), it shows a 10.34MB "unallocated" partition, which I'm afraid to screw with, maybe it contains firmware data or whatever.

    Problem is, if I try to split the existing partition to create a new one, it adds the newly unused space to the existing "unallocated" one, so this is where I turn back in fear of destroying her drive completely.


    soooo my question is, did you have that 10.34MB "unallocated" partition when you bought her drive? She never did anything to it other than adding data, ie it's still using the standard FAT32 file system...
     
  6. thc42O

    Banned thc42O Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    lmao its prob not on fat32 for one, its Most likely NTFS
    just Delete the partition she has on it and make 2 new ones out of the unallocated space.
    one for WBFS and one for standard file system to store data as usual with.
     
  7. Davedom

    Newcomer Davedom Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    In Patition magic it shows up as "unallocated" but still has a letter and is resizable??? has anybody tried to resize this way??

    If not i will try on another drive by putting games, resizing, etc
    will get back to you
     

Share This Page