Hacking Remove A9LH CFW Permanently

Maon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
21
Country
United States
Hello all,

I recently bought a n3ds off craigslist and found out that it has A9LH installed on it. I've been looking all around the forums trying to figure out how to factory reset it and get it back to normal. I don't have any of the backup files, just what's already on the sd card.

Keep in mind, I have no interest in installing CFW on it at anytime in the future, so any FW version will work for me, I just don't want a bricked unit. I also don't know how to use the tools very well, keep it n00b friendly please ><....


Thanks in advance!
 

Maon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
21
Country
United States
How do I run Safe A9LH Installer?

I've found the Homebrew opener app, but whenever I try and open SafeA9LHInstaller it gets stuck on a blackscreen..
 

osm70

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
1,210
Trophies
1
XP
1,942
Country
Czech Republic
How do I run Safe A9LH Installer?

I've found the Homebrew opener app, but whenever I try and open SafeA9LHInstaller it gets stuck on a blackscreen..
Put the arm9loaderhax.bin to the root of your SD card and power on the system.
 

Maon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
21
Country
United States
that file was already in the root of the SD card, a bunch of other files were there too, should it be the only file?

It's booting to the normal start screen.. Do I have to hold down a button on power up?
 

osm70

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
1,210
Trophies
1
XP
1,942
Country
Czech Republic
that file was already in the root of the SD card, a bunch of other files were there too, should it be the only file?

It's booting to the normal start screen.. Do I have to hold down a button on power up?
Delete the original arm9loaderhax.bin file and replace it with that one.
 

Maon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
21
Country
United States
the original being the one in the root of the SD card and the replacement coming from where?

Sorry, trying to make sure I'm getting the right files in the right places
 

Maon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
21
Country
United States
Thanks! I did it and it looks like it passed!

How can I tell that A9LH was actually removed? And can I now safely factory reset and format my SD card?
 

osm70

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
1,210
Trophies
1
XP
1,942
Country
Czech Republic
Thanks! I did it and it looks like it passed!

How can I tell that A9LH was actually removed? And can I now safely factory reset and format my SD card?
Reboot the system. If the installer starts again, A9LH is still installed.

You can safely update slash factory reset at any time. Do not format the SD until you are sure A9LH is gone.
 

Maon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
21
Country
United States
Yep it didn't boot up and I can now boot without the SD card as well, it looks like A9LH is removed!!

Thank you so much!!
 

PabloMK7

Red Yoshi! ^ω^
Developer
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
2,467
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Yoshi's Island
XP
3,535
Country
Spain
Yep it didn't boot up and I can now boot without the SD card as well, it looks like A9LH is removed!!

Thank you so much!!
What you have done is VERY dangerous, you don't know if the person who previously owned the 3ds made a region change, or changed any signed crucial file (such as SecureInfo_A) which would have bricked after removing CFW. Hopefully, that wasn't the case for you. (This warning also goes to @Crystal the Glaceon and @osm70, so you know in the future if someone has the same question ;))
 

The Catboy

GBATemp's Official Demiboy: Am Catboy now!
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
24,191
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
23,375
Country
Antarctica
What you have done is VERY dangerous, you don't know if the person who previously owned the 3ds made a region change, or changed any signed crucial file (such as SecureInfo_A) which would have bricked after removing CFW. Hopefully, that wasn't the case for you. (This warning also goes to @Crystal the Glaceon and @osm70, so you know in the future if someone has the same question ;))
Excuse you? I am well aware of these facts.
 

The Catboy

GBATemp's Official Demiboy: Am Catboy now!
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
24,191
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
23,375
Country
Antarctica
Well, I pointed that out because you didn't mention anything about it, so I assumed you didn't know lol
I rarely mention it because I am pretty sure this system won't have had the region changed. Mostly because you rarely find anyone doing region changes directly to their sysNAND and normally do it to an emuNAND (that's not always the case, but it's the most common case.) And because really not that common a practice anymore. As well there's almost no chance that they orginial seller would have anything like the TWL/AGB patches down to the NAND, since those have been needed for months now and won't even work with Luma3DS.
Basically your suggestion is likely and should be taken into consideration (so I will and will add it to my list of suggestions,) but not as likely as used to be.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PabloMK7

aljpn91

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
276
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
122
Country
why would someone even want to remove a9lh in the first place? btw it's already possible to boot a 3ds with a9lh without an sd card inside
 
Last edited by aljpn91,

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    In 20 years we'll probably have micro sd cards implants in our heads
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    microsd?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I'd be okay with getting my brain taken out and replaced with one as long as its not intel or apple
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    shiet get on with the time grampa, we're using picoSD now
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Only the most important humans will have nvme installed in their head
  • _Shimon @ _Shimon:
    oh shit this exists
  • Arras @ Arras:
    wait this is where the shoutbox went?
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    What are everyone's
    thoughts on gpu prices atm?
  • Arras @ Arras:
    high
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    lol yes they are high, mate of mine just got a 1080 for $700 AUD
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    second hand which is nuts as when the 3070 came out here that's how much it was new at the time
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I
    f you have tech that can decently run games don't buy anything yet wait a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    I just got a core build upgrade, minus gpu due to price, will be running my GTX780 until I can afford an upgrade
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Prices are up because of bots and
    shortages it'll die down with a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    Yeah I imagine there will be a short period where prices are low then the next series will come out and low and behold have high prices again
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Today's games look just fine at 1080 with decent 60fos unless you have disposable income it's not really worth it
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    And I'm here stuck with my 3800X (though I need to plan if I want to upgrade to a 5900X) and an RX 5700 (XT BIOS).
  • p1ngpong @ p1ngpong:
    DEAD
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ALIVE
  • Slluxx @ Slluxx:
    oh wow, chat available from any where, nice
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    Are scalpers still scalping PS5s? If no, might plan on getting one soonish.
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Glad I got my 3080 at retail price
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Weird got a reCaptcha check by
    refreshing the page
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/2021/09/24/tech/webcams-workplace-meetings/index.html