1. stranno

    stranno GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    It requires Interpreter mode.

    Vita version uses Cached Interpreter, so it is not as slow as regular Interpreter. I guess it will be added to 3DS version, but given that it runs at 10-15FPS on Vita, I wouldnt expect anything really "watchable" on 3DS.

    https://twitter.com/Rinnegatamante/status/1262159759177809921
     
    VinsCool, Mr. Looigi, DSwizzy and 3 others like this.
  2. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    888
    Country:
    United States
    Same here im glad im not only one :D
     
  3. MasterFeizz

    OP MasterFeizz GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,076
    Country:
    United States
    There is a reason I haven't released a new version yet. For those who are not aware, there is a collaboration between the 3DS and Vita port. I don't have as much time as they do to work on this, so expect larger and less frequent commits to the 3DS. As far as conker goes, it doesn't require a "cached interpreter"; it just needs some instructions to not be compiled by the dynarec. Performance is pretty similar between the N3DS and the Vita, with each platform performing better in some scenarios.
     
  4. MarioKartFan

    MarioKartFan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Algeria
    @MasterFeizz This is one of the most exciting projects in years. Thank you for the update and the continued excellence.
     
    nintendowii, DSwizzy, CeeDee and 2 others like this.
  5. Hogoki

    Hogoki Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    This is just glorious. Glorious, I say! We now have to wonder: Can the 66DD be emulated on 3DS too?
     
  6. stranno

    stranno GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Most, if not all, 64DD games have been converted to regular N64 cartridges. Iirc someone already tried Sim City 64 and it showed some graphics.
     
    Zense, Robz8 and Dodain47 like this.
  7. Isegrim

    Isegrim Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Switzerland
    highly recommended game
    for the "unofficial / middle of the road" 0.2 "dot five" beta update (Enable OSHLE)

    Doom 64

    Thanks to Master Feizz's latest work on OSHLE & Stranno for compiling this unofficial WIP built
    Download here: https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-daedalusx64-n64-emulator.562195/page-34#post-9063201

    This gem of an old school first person shooter runs now at frequent 30 FPS (OSHLE enabled update) previously 10 FPS only
    It is now "fully playable" at full speed.

    Doom 64 is not a port of previous doom games.
    It's a brand new game with new levels, new graphics, new weapons, a very unique design and features 37 unseen levels
    .
    I'm having a real blast with this forgotten gem of a fantastic old school fps right now. Currently I'm in the 6th or 7th level without any major problems. It features a game pak safe system. Although It is pretty much impractical to use, since it needs very unique and odd simultaneously c-left & c-left input to safe progress between levels. Save states "work". However it can freeze the first 1-3 times randomly when you boot up the game. Saving and restoring state during game play is more practical to use. It absolutely very rarely freezes in game. I recommend saving on all three states in case 1 slot does not load up.
    So if you're into first person shooters, give it a try. You can also purchase an official port on PS4 & PC right now.
     
    Last edited by Isegrim, May 26, 2020
    ArkhamK27 likes this.
  8. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Argentina
    if im not mistaken OP is the author of a 3DS port of the original game. Or at least someone here did one, it works flawlessly, anyone into doom go check that
     
  9. MarioKartFan

    MarioKartFan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Algeria
    There is a good 3ds port of Doom. But @Isegrim is referring to Doom 64 which is an entirely different game.
     
    Sinon likes this.
  10. Sinon

    Sinon You can call me either Mike or Autumn
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,194
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Doom 64 =/= Doom

    They are different games
     
  11. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    888
    Country:
    United States
    please slam the doom 64 out not interseted
     
  12. AceTrainerMike

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any tricks to being able to get past the main menu selection in Stadium 2? I know I can play it fully on PC retroarch, but I gotta go through the hassle of setting up my pro controller on bluetooth. On 3DS, everything is already set up.
     
  13. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Argentina
    I never implied they were the same game i just said "if anyone is into doom check this out" since you brought up doom
    But i actually wasn't aware doom 64 was not a port because i never played it, so thanks for the heads up i guess
     
  14. Mr. Looigi

    Mr. Looigi C a t
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    I’m getting really bad drifting on Paper Mario.
    I don’t know if this is because the game has a was smaller deadzone than everything or if it’s just an emulator bug. Because it doesn’t happen in the other games
     
  15. AceTrainerMike

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    It happened to me in Mario 64. Made me use save states in the final levels because I am not going to re-navigate rainbow ride or tick tock clock because of a misstep...
     
  16. Sinon

    Sinon You can call me either Mike or Autumn
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,194
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    The emu has a bad deadzone
     
  17. ArkhamK27

    ArkhamK27 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Mexico
    I used the build you linked. FPS are fine but colors are too dark. What can I do to correct this?
     
  18. stranno

    stranno GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Nothing atm. Doom 64 is just waaaaaay too dark.

    DaedalusX64-vitaGL has an option to ramp up the gamma. It hasnt been added to 3DS version yet.

     
  19. Isegrim

    Isegrim Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Doom 64 has an built in display option to increase the brightness - set it to max / slide right. It will look closer to right picture in terms to brightness in result.
     
    ArkhamK27 likes this.
  20. Rj.MoG

    Rj.MoG GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    United States
    Isn’t Doom64 ridiculously dark? That’s kind of how I remember it being on console.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - DaedalusX64, [RELEASE], Emulator)