Reinstalling Bootmii and Preloader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LufianGuy, Oct 5, 2009.

Oct 5, 2009
  1. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    My wii info is in my sig.

    I plan to do this in the listed order and want anyone to tell me if its wrong:

    Update HBC to 1.0.5

    Reinstall Bootmii as Boot2 using the latest hackmii installer (v0.5)
    1. Install new Bootmii Beta 4

    MAKE A NAND DUMP

    Reinstall Preloader
    1. Get system menu 4.0U wad from NUSD (not sure how to use it yet)
    2. Install that wad using wad manager.
    3. Use DOP-IOS to install IOS60 v6174 with Sig Hash Check.
    4. Install the new preloader.

    MAKE ANOTHER NAND DUMP

    Will I run into any issues here?
     
  2. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    yea thats right

    as for NUSD, check here for it

    just press pack>wad at the bottom, then on top, navigate using database to your system menu 4.0u
     
  3. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need to uninstall and then reinstall BootMii. Just install it over the old one.
     
  4. D34DL1N3R

    Member D34DL1N3R Nephilim

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,614
    Country:
    United States
    Patching with DOP-IOS never worked for me a single time trying to get preloader working on 4.2. I had to use freethebug to patch IOS70 and it worked 1st try.
     
  5. ecw

    Member ecw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I did but I cannot get Bootmii to autoboot to HBC 1.0.5. It worked fine on HBC 1.0.3 with the same SD. Not sure why though.
     
  6. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't it be best to uninstall my current boot2 bootmii to make sure there are no files or entries lingering around?
     
  7. PokemonV

    Newcomer PokemonV Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Canada
    You should bold "MAKE A NAND DUMP"
     
  8. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    Added, but can anyone vouch that the latest bootmii works?

    Also I might just install over the old bootmii because losing bootmii scares me >.
     
  9. ecw

    Member ecw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    I can vouch that it works. I just can't autoboot to HBC. [​IMG]
     
  10. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    Did u prepare the SD card for the new bootmii?
     
  11. ecw

    Member ecw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, sure did. Even tried the BootMii configurator. It Boots to the Bootmii screen then counts down. Just can't get it to go to the new HBC. Do you think I should run the Prepare SD card again?
     
  12. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry that I don't know how to solve your problem ecw.

    I got my info straight now.
     
  13. ecw

    Member ecw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    No problem. Thanks anyway. I got it to work by re-installing BootMii. Funny thing is, I have a second 2gb PNY (exact same card) but I can't get that to boot. Oh well, at least I got one working and can boot to HBC. [​IMG]
     
  14. LufianGuy
    OP

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    I'm going to wait to do this. The official 0.30 preloader has been released and someone will change it so it links to the JODI HBC instead of the HAXX HBC.

    Also I read that someone is working on a preloader that auto detects either JODI or HAXX HBC and will get you there no matter which HBC you are using.

    Hopefully if that HBC auto detection ever works they will slide it along to the bootmii team.
     

Share This Page