Regarding Swap Magic

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Windaga, Jan 11, 2011.

Jan 11, 2011

Regarding Swap Magic by Windaga at 3:15 AM (1,552 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Windaga
    OP

    Member Windaga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Location:
    New England
    Country:
    United States
    Just a quick question regarding Swap Magic and Free McBoot

    I'm running Free McBoot 1.8, and I use Swap Magic to boot into LaunchElf v4.40. My question is:

    I run my backed up Ps2 games off of my hard drive via Open PS2 Loader, but I can only access Open PS2 Loader from the Launch Elf menu, and to access that menu, I need my Swap Magic Disc in the PS2. Is there some way to read LaunchElf 4.40 without the need of the Swap Magic disc? I'm only asking because I'm not sure how strong the laser is on this PS2, and I still want to be able to play my games. Is this possible?
     
  2. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniacâ„¢

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    you can launch it with freemcboot if you have the .elf copied to it from your flashdrive.
     
  3. Windaga
    OP

    Member Windaga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Location:
    New England
    Country:
    United States
    I have a USB flashdrive plugged into the front of my PS2 with LaunchElf on it, but I still need the Swap Magic CD, or else it leaves me at the PS2 screen with the FreeMC Boot 1.8 options. Is there a way to launch it from that screen?
     
  4. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    If you never use HDLoader why not rename the Open PS2 Loader to HDLOADER.ELF and launch it using that option in the FreeMCBoot menu.
     
  5. Windaga
    OP

    Member Windaga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Location:
    New England
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not quite sure what you mean. Whenever I turn on my PS2, the FreeMCBoot logo appears, and then these are the options I'm given:

    Browser (Memory Card/Game Disc)
    System Configuration (Time/Date)
    Launch Disc
    Reload Configuration (Reboots PS2)
    Free McBoot Configurator (Opens a Menu)

    With the Swapmagic Disc in, it'll automatically bootup into LaunchElf 4.40, and from there, I have to navigate to my USB and launch the OpenPS2Loader.elf. What I want to know is if it's possible to load LaunchElf or OpenPS2Loader from the main screen so that I don't need the disc. I don't see an option to launch HDLoader from the Free McBoot start up screen.
     
  6. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    Did you install FreeMCBoot yourself?
     
  7. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    you can add items to the FMB screen
     
  8. Windaga
    OP

    Member Windaga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Location:
    New England
    Country:
    United States

    Yes, I did. But it was some time ago.

    @Riicky - how do you add items to the FMB screen?
     
  9. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    This should get u started

    FMB Config
     
  10. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    Yep that would have been the same thing I would have posted [​IMG]
    After you answered my question [​IMG]
     

Share This Page