Hacking Reformat SD-Card

Pesci1

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
I'll buy myself a Flash card for my 3DS.

What I wonder is how you can format the SD card and then be able to enter the kernel on it to make it work? For everywhere I've read, you should not update your 3DS before you updated your Flash card, otherwise it will not work. If you format the SD card, how can it work on the 3DS if you have the latest version updated on your 3DS. This may be a silly question (sorry in that case) but I'm new to this kind of stuff.

Grateful for answers.

Pesci1

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Couple things.
1. What kind of R4 are you using?
2. What version is your 3ds
3. What class is your micro SD?

1.R4-SDHC 3DS
2. Latest version (getting a preflashed card)
3 SanDisk 2 GB SD-card

Hope that info helps, ty for fast answer :)

Pesci1

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
The updates for DSi/3DS compatibility are not kept on the SD permanently.

You put the update on the SD and run it, then the update gets stored on the flash cart itself, not the SD.

Ohh, i see so after i have updated it once the card will allways have the update? Plus i dont know if anyone of you got any info but i have read that when you got the instalation done, you can update the firmware through wifi? That would be awesome, my question then is why dont they have the things installed before selling them? It would make it so much easier for the public. But maybe that is not possible.

chavosaur

Chavo
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I would then check the post above you, Rydian is the best person to help you.
But to throw my two cents in, heres a step by step for what you should do.
1. Go to the website listed on the box of the card you received.
2. Download the latest kernel.
3. Unzip the folder of the kernel using An unzip utility such as Winrar or the unarchiver.
4. Move the contents onto the root of your sd card (meaning, just move the files onto the sd card without placing them in any kind of folder.)