Recoding fmvs so they work with the loader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by psycon, Sep 30, 2008.

Sep 30, 2008
  1. psycon
    OP

    Newcomer psycon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Canada
    You know how on a psp there are ripkits to make isos fit on your mem stick. the same method should work to "fix" games that have choppy or messed up fmvs due to the backup launcher. if the videos are recoded to bitrate that the drive can handle, it should solve the issue. I havent actually tried recoding, but i did take apart a game and watch all its .thp files. the other thing that could be done if we cant recode, is to try swapping the files with a small working file as a placeholder. I havent had time lately or i would test this out more, which i will eventually if noone else does first.
     
  2. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Which game are you speaking of, exactly?

    With Guitar Hero, the video files are Bink encoded, which makes it very easy to encode them to a lower bitrate or remove them all together.

    In fact, replacing the videos with single byte Bink videos(using RadTools) frees up a good 1.5GB, allowing you to add an entire set of songs.
     
  3. skedone

    Member skedone GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United States
    i think he means like all game for instance De blob, destroy all humans now theres a bad one not only is the fmv so bad you cant make out a word but also its long and cant be skipped so Really annoying. but yes mate i think your on to summit
     
  4. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    We can already extract files from wii isos afaik, and trucha wont be a problem with gecko.
     
  5. GexX2

    Member GexX2 Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Tennesee, US
    Country:
    United States
    Hopefully we can eventually recode the brawl videos so we can have a full video'd dvd5.
     
  6. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you already can... Brawl uses Bink encoding. Just get RadTools and encode it to a lower bitrate.
     
  7. psycon
    OP

    Newcomer psycon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Canada
    many games also use a format called thp http://wiki.multimedia.cx/index.php?title=THP. there are codecs for mplayer to play them just fine, dont know about encoding.

    and yes discs can be edited with trucha signer. so it jsut a matter of finding out what works.
     
  8. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    So, all it would take would be an encoder that can do mJPEG and PCM, which any good one will do.


    Since Mplayer supports it, I'm pretty sure Mencoder will do the job.
     

Share This Page