RE4 aspect ratio hack?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by unicode2CP, Oct 26, 2010.

Oct 26, 2010

RE4 aspect ratio hack? by unicode2CP at 8:19 PM (3,390 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. unicode2CP
    OP

    Newcomer unicode2CP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Croatia
    Hi,

    Is it possible to run Resident Evil 4 in 4:3 aspect ratio without top and bottom black borders.
    I heard that Wii's native resolution is 640x480 pixels which is 4:3. Is there any available hack for this? I don't want letterbox picture.
     
  2. ps3sucks

    Newcomer ps3sucks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    I hear ya man, I would like to know this as well... same with NSMB Wii.
     
  3. Lord-x

    Newcomer Lord-x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Añasco
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I have component cables and the wii set to 480p (edtv) and it doesn't show the black lines. I ts full screen.
     
  4. ps3sucks

    Newcomer ps3sucks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    I have this exact set up yet the lines still appear for me.
     
  5. Lord-x

    Newcomer Lord-x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Añasco
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Also in widescreen settings it has to be in 16:9.
     
  6. ps3sucks

    Newcomer ps3sucks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    But we have 4:3 tv's aka the Full square boxes... not the wide tvs that are the standard today... setting the widescreen settings to 16:9 makes no sense.
     
  7. Lord-x

    Newcomer Lord-x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Añasco
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    It doesn't matter at 16:9 you won't be loosing anything important, just those annoying black lines. My brother has a regular tv. and that's the trick we used to play nsmbw.
     
  8. ps3sucks

    Newcomer ps3sucks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow if its that easy im going to shoot myself... going to try it now and ill post back results for the TC
    Just to clarify you are talking about the widescreen settings in the Wii menu correct?
     
  9. Lord-x

    Newcomer Lord-x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Añasco
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Yes.
     
  10. ps3sucks

    Newcomer ps3sucks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow I cannot believe it!!! To think it was that easy to play the game in Fullscreen when I already beat it 3 times, constantly thinking WHY IS THEIR NO FULLSCREEN SUPPORT!!!!

    LOL
    Lord-x thankyou so much man! Anyhow, TC i confirm what Lord-x posted... As odd as it sounds, go into your wii settings and change your widescreen settings to 16:9... It worked for both RE4 and NSMB and will probably work for any game that appears in letterbox on a 4:3 tv.
     
  11. Lord-x

    Newcomer Lord-x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Añasco
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Glad I could help.
     
  12. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States
    but then are you playing with a squeezed image? like with a very skinny leon.
     
  13. ps3sucks

    Newcomer ps3sucks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    I guess you are but its still better than the black lines IMO (since i have a really big EDTV) Its hardly noticeable really.
     
  14. unicode2CP
    OP

    Newcomer unicode2CP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Croatia
    I already know this trick, and I don't like this squeezed image too. Is there any chance to unlock native 4:3 resolution for this game, with patch or something similar?

    It would be cool to find part of code that is responsible for aspect ratio of output image.
     
  15. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    native res is 720x480p for the wii. ntsc 480p == 720x480p. this is the same resolution as dvd's.

    it happens to accommodate 4:3 resolutions, like 640x480. stop calling this the native, because you're wrong.

    you see black bars because the developers are trying to help you out by not cropping the image on its sides. widescreen is better for you, and always will be, no matter the medium.
     
  16. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Pretty much this. The game was made for 16:9 resolutions, so the native resolution would be like that. 4:3 televisions have black bars because the game was made to be in 16:9, and only 16:9. It's the same reason why Mario Party 8 had giant bars on the sides for widescreen users, the game wasn't meant to have 16:9 support, which sucks. It's the way the developers made the game, there's nothing we can do about it. Blame the developers if you want to.
     
  17. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The resolution has nothing to do with the aspect ratio, you don't always have square pixels.

    A 16:9 480p mode would be 850 pixels wide if it had square pixels.
     
  18. robo989

    Member robo989 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    It's not odd at all.

    It's EXACTLY the same with any electrical output device...Xbox, PS3, DVD player etc.

    Setting it to 16:9 tells the Wii your display device can show the whole image without any distortion, so obviously the image is streched if you view it on a 4:3 display device. Setting it to a 4:3 tells the Wii it will need to add black bars to keep the correct aspect ratio...Nothing clever going on here and any fool should know this stuff and have at least tried it.
     

Share This Page