Rate my soon to be rig

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by DSGamer64, Jun 27, 2009.

Jun 27, 2009

Rate my soon to be rig by DSGamer64 at 4:48 AM (2,201 Views / 0 Likes) 37 replies

  1. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    G.Skill 4GB DDR2 1066 PC28500 RAM
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 500GB HDD 16MB cache
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz CPU
    Gigabyte GA-G41M Micro ATX motherboard
    Thermaltake LANBOX microATX case
    Raidmax 630watt modular PSU
    Zotac GeForce 9800GT 512MB (HDCP form factor)

    I am planning on building something that will fit on my desk since I don't have a lot of space, nor do I need a big desktop in the first place, plus I like to do LAN parties and gaming laptops are so unreliable.
     


  2. yeahitschris

    Member yeahitschris GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Country:
    United States
    wow, thats a beast. my cpu is like 6 years old, but still runs okay

    1.5 GB (max is 2 loool)
    180GB HD
    Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0Ghz CPU
    not sure about power supply since friend gave it to me
    RADEON 3850 HD
     
  3. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    not bad at all! should serve u nicely for the next few years [​IMG] and good call gettin a core 2 duo, its pretty useless getting quad core now.
     
  4. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah right, a 6 year old core 2 duo.
     
  5. saulin

    Member saulin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    157
    Country:

    hehe he probably meant 3.0Ghz P4?
     
  6. yeahitschris

    Member yeahitschris GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Country:
    United States
    miscalcuated, 5 years lol, got it in freshmen year of high school. and now im in sophmore college so yeah.

    [​IMG]

    http://www.superwarehouse.com/Sony_VAIO_RB...-RB30/ps/471790
    ^ thats the one i have

    not really a cpu guy aha, my friends jus tell me i got duo core or something. they tlel me to chek by ctrl+alt+end performance under CPU history.
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    thats just a P4 with hyperthreading (making it appear as 2 CPU's)
    theres only one core
     
  8. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    DON'T GET THAT HARDDRIVE!!!!!

    I have it, it is extremely failure prone. died in 2 weeks, then 5 months, need to send it in AGAIN!!! read the reviews... well, wait, whats the model number?
     
  9. yeahitschris

    Member yeahitschris GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Country:
    United States
    weakkk lol, oh well though still
     
  10. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?...N82E16822148395

    ST3500418AS is the model number, 69% of reviews gave it 5/5.

    I reckon the setup should at least run Crysis decently, not that it matters if the settings are max or not. Considering the desktop I use now has a 2.8 Ghz P4, 120GB HDD, 2GB of RAM and a Radeon 9200 graphics card, this is an upgrade of epic proportions for me. Just wondering how I am going to wire my computer to the router in the basement though.
     
  11. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    STAY AWAY FROM SEAGATE.

    If you want your HDD to die on you after 5 months, then keep it, get something more respectable, Western Digital is the best.

    G.Skill RAM...Nice.

    9800GT...Great.

    The E8000 series is great

    The Motherboard..Gigbabyte [​IMG] i dunno i guess it was just coincidence, but i've had many problems with Gigabyte, but in general they have good products

    So far so good
     
  12. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    okay, not my model number so you may be ok. I'd still stay away from CrapGate
     
  13. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Dude why would seagate drives die in 5 months if they all have 5 year warrentys? I have 2 in my pc that are like 3 year old.

    EDIT: Well maybe not all seeing as that linked one only has 3 but i know for a fact the ones i bought have a 5 year warranty.
     
  14. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    I reckon Seagate is better then Maxtor, the drive in my external HDD burned out within a year of getting it.
     
  15. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    Seagate bought Maxtor

    seagate had a ton of problems with the 7200.11 drives and gave them a horrible name for bad quality
     
  16. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah Seagate lost a lot recently. I've always liked Western Digital however, especially the VelociRaptors (The Raptors were decent but loud), and their larger drive are very reliable.

    As for all the other stuff it looks top notch. The graphics card will probably be outdated soon since the GTX's are out and more are probably coming real soon, but you can always just toss a second in SLI.

    The case (depending on which one) is decent, not the best but if should fit everything inside it as long as you don't try stuffing watercooling and more hard drives inside it.
     
  17. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No he can't.
     
  18. Raki

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm no Seagate fan as well
    I had a 7200.8 250 GB drive which wasn't fast at all, but got incredible slow after around 3 years...it's fucking noisy and nearly unusuable in windows
    Now I have a 640 GB Western Digital Caviar Blue which is really nice
     
  19. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    yea right now im using a WD caviar blue 500GB also

    the blue series is right in the middle of the green and black series
    its just right for the price
     
  20. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    With the prices the way they are, might as well get a 1TB drive at this rate, getting one on sale costs around 100 dollars. I will look at other drive options though, my external drive for my Wii has a Western Digital 200GB in it.

    Here is the case: http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...&CatId=3428

    It is bigger then most other microATX cases on the market, has more depth and length to it so you can fit in higher end video cards. I doubt I could fit in any of thoe GT series cards since those things cover up two expansion ports on most cases and since there are only 3, I would be left with only a single slot for either Wifi or a USB hub and I might need both depending on whether or not I can wire my desktop to my network or not. There are no SLI microATX motherboards in existance as far as I know of. I am not too concerned about high end graphics, I just want a computer that will perform and do some higher end stuff and run some games decently. I was looking at a different Gigabyte motherboard with a GeForce 9400 built into it, if I can't afford to buy both the motherboard I want and the graphics card, then I will go for it.
     

Share This Page