R4igold.cn .. better firmware?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by elainars, Jan 30, 2011.

Jan 30, 2011

R4igold.cn .. better firmware? by elainars at 12:03 AM (12,418 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. elainars
    OP

    Newcomer elainars Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    So I bought a r4i card from a store nearby my place and it was my first time knowing about r4's :3.. so I was really excited to get it ... but the dumb thing was that the r4 only supports a little bit of games .. so I was wondering if there was a better firmware for this chip .. this chip has made me upset [​IMG] .. I have been trying to find one that supports it but could not find ANY luck at all .. please help ): .. I cant play sims 3, chinatown, super mario .. [​IMG] .. really makes me mad S:

    so is there a better firmware that is suitable .. ive tried almost anything .. .S:
     


  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,721
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
  3. elainars
    OP

    Newcomer elainars Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
  4. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,721
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Try backing up your card, then formatting it with this
    http://filetrip.net/f10976-SDFormatter-Version-3-0BETA.html

    Then find the DLDI patch for your card, which is normally somewhere in the system files
    DLDI patch the YSmenu.nds with that DLDI and rename it to the boot file, which is normally _DS_MENU.DAT
     
  5. jevuz

    Newcomer jevuz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Mexico
    your car is the one from the mario box ?
    if it is
    you can use
    ysmenu
    i have the same car as you and ys menu really works
    [​IMG]
    remember you need to have the original kernel and then put the clone ysmenu in the root of your card
    then put it in you ds turn it on and serch for the ysmenu.nds and you can now play games
     
  6. elainars
    OP

    Newcomer elainars Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Ok , so I backed did all the first steps before .. but the DLDI is a .DLL file with a b at the end .. (if it makes a difference) .. anyways how exactly do I patch it????
     
  7. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
  8. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,721
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I was not aware there was a difference
     
  9. elainars
    OP

    Newcomer elainars Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hey sorry guys about the whole commotion lol .. but I will try all the things you said ^-^.. so let me get this ..

    I use my original one then put in ysmenu?
     
  10. jevuz

    Newcomer jevuz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Mexico
    use the original kernel from your r4igold .cn card
    then put the ysmenu for r4 clones and thats it
    i have the same card as you
     
  11. Aijelsop

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
  12. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    I just realized you have a r4igold.cn not a r4i gold from r4ids.cn

    sorry, wood won't work if that's the case
     
  13. elainars
    OP

    Newcomer elainars Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys!

    Although it did take forever to load mario it works!!

    Definetly gonna stay in the forums for any help [​IMG]!!
     
  14. jevuz

    Newcomer jevuz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Mexico
    what did you use [​IMG]?
     
  15. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,721
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
  16. elainars
    OP

    Newcomer elainars Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
  17. xyrophile

    Newcomer xyrophile Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    I run the same flashcart, and I've noticed that the filesystem on the SD card has a profound effect on speed. Try formatting it with the panasonic SD formatter. (http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/sd/download/index.html)
    Obviously, you'll want to back up the data on your card first; on the upside, copying the data off your card, formatting, and then copying it back not only gives you a clean filesystem, it also gives you an unfragmented one.
     
  18. djtrouble

    Newcomer djtrouble Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a fast working firmware for this cart!!! it is able to play all the lastest games.... I will upload shortly!
    I use this firmware on the same card and it runs perfectly plus you have the choice to use your favorite Menu System!!

    Contains - YSMENU (removed ;o) )
    TTMENU
    Moonshell
    and R4 menu!!!


    ( edited now with latest cheats/ infolib and savlib!)

    Hope that it helps you out!

    Uploading now.
     
  19. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Then don't upload it. YSMenu should not be uploaded precompiled.
     
  20. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    What? That was 1968.

    You can write a 10 page manual for n00bs if you want to prohibit updloading of YSMenu... And help them...

    YsMenu is in Retrogamefan's Multicart firmware updates, and that's good.
     

Share This Page