R4i

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by peterpro, Jan 8, 2011.

R4i

by peterpro Jan 8, 2011 at 4:22 PM 1,597 Views 19 replies
  1. peterpro
    OP

    peterpro Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Hey guys i could really need some help here...

    Just bought an R4i.
    Its supposed to be used on a NDSI

    So far so good.

    Ive got my card, and thought hmm ill start with an update, so i updated the kenel to the lastest 1.56 i think, and it still worked fine. Then
    i got that "bright" idea that i would update the firmware on the flashcard itself, and after that, the icon went blank, and im getting an error when
    i try to start it. Im using it on a DSI XL with 1.4E. Now i cant even get in "contact" with the card to somehow reflash it, with another firmware [​IMG]

    I also have a plain NDS, and it works fine on that console.....

    I used the kenel and firmware from this site, witch i got because its written on the cartridge. I really need help here guys! Could i somehow reflash the card to another hopefully working firmware?
     
  2. Pyrmon

    Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Member
    1,086
    14
    Sep 25, 2010
    Canada
    Montreal
    Could you be a little more precise about what card you have? Where you bought it(exact URL) and the name of your card(Rai Gold, R4i SDHC, R4i 3DS, R4i WTFBBQ, whatever). Or the URL of where you downloaded the files.
     
  3. Fireballo

    Fireballo Banned

    Banned
    269
    2
    Dec 28, 2010
    United States
    Sounds like you bricked your card. Try starting the card on a regular DS and reflash it if you can.
     
  4. peterpro
    OP

    peterpro Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 8, 2011
    I can start it in a regular DS but need the original firmware for it to reflash it..... www.r4ultra.com its an R4i from there, with their Kernel and firmware.... Should have just kept the firmware it came with [​IMG] and thats my prob, i need that other firmware, so i can reflash it in an regular DS lite
     
  5. Clookster

    Clookster Your Clookster

    Banned
    710
    0
    Aug 20, 2009
    Swaziland
    Suisse Romande
    You can reflash your Ultra with Akaio 1.8.1 as well, why not?
     
  6. peterpro
    OP

    peterpro Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 8, 2011
    need reflash firmware for my R4i, so it will work on my Dsi ver 1.4E

    The firmware on www.r4ultra.com made it only work on a regular DS not My DSi XL

    Posts merged

    hmm Clookster u think that might work?
     
  7. Clookster

    Clookster Your Clookster

    Banned
    710
    0
    Aug 20, 2009
    Swaziland
    Suisse Romande
    Yes. Why not?

    Akaio 1.8.1 + Flashfiles for 1.4.1 = [​IMG]
     
  8. peterpro
    OP

    peterpro Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Akaio is only a kernel, not a flashcard chip firmware. it came with a working firmware on it, so im thinking i could get it somewhere/somehow
     
  9. Clookster

    Clookster Your Clookster

    Banned
    710
    0
    Aug 20, 2009
    Swaziland
    Suisse Romande
    What are you talking about, peterpro?

    Flash your damed Ultra. lol.

    It takes 20 seconds. There is no need to discuss that for hours. [​IMG]
     
  10. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member
    27,883
    8,103
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    He's saying TRY AGAIN.
     
  11. Clookster

    Clookster Your Clookster

    Banned
    710
    0
    Aug 20, 2009
    Swaziland
    Suisse Romande
    Rydian, I liked your christmas avatar a bit more. [​IMG]

    Btt: Yes, that's what I'm saying... lol.
     
  12. twiztidsinz

    twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Member
    4,981
    5
    Dec 23, 2008
    United States
    Menus =/= Firmware

    AKAIO is a Menu/OS/Kernel
    1.4.1 is a firmware update

    Putting AKAIO 1.whatever isn't going to make your card work on a DSi.
    You need to update the firmware of the cart by running the firmware update on DS that your card works on. Alternatively you can run the DSl firmware update app from any card on a DS/DSLite then swap the card you want to repair to fix a 'bricked' card.
     
  13. peterpro
    OP

    peterpro Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Thats exactly my problem! WHAT firmware works on MY card? The one thats on the site of the manufactor of the card doesnt work... THAT is my problem! need to know if someone knows of another firmware that might work on my R4i... Clooster ive flashed it 3 times, with the same result! it works on my DS, not my DSi XL....
     
  14. peterpro
    OP

    peterpro Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Clookster its an R4i not an Ultra...
     
  15. Evo.lve

    Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Member
    1,786
    21
    Oct 11, 2010
    Away from you.
    Please do something other than repeatedly state what the problem is, we have brains, we can figure it out.

    AKAIO 1.8.1 works on the R4 Ultra. If that doesn't work, try the default R4 Ultra firmware off their site.
     
  16. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member
    27,883
    8,103
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
  17. Evo.lve

    Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Member
    1,786
    21
    Oct 11, 2010
    Away from you.
    Oh...

    Hmm yeah...

    Maybe it's bricked.
     
  18. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member
    27,883
    8,103
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Works on his DS/Lite.

    He just needs to find the proper update (if there is one).
     
  19. peterpro
    OP

    peterpro Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Rydian u got it :-) right on the money..... ill take a look at the link
     
  20. peterpro
    OP

    peterpro Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Seems like i can only find ALOT of kernel updates, and no bootloader uploads!! Argh ill throw the crap in the direction om someone with a DSL [​IMG]
    Go back to good old TTDSi always worked fantastic. I miss the days when dealextreme had flashcards [​IMG] ordedered some cards from goldenbridge.hk anyone have experience with them?

    Thank for trying to help me btw..