R4i w/ dsi xl?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Roxas Chaos0, Mar 27, 2010.

Mar 27, 2010

R4i w/ dsi xl? by Roxas Chaos0 at 3:18 AM (1,596 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Roxas Chaos0
    OP

    Newcomer Roxas Chaos0 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Will the r4i work with the dsi xl?
     
  2. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    Sure hope it doesn't

    ehh state the name of the website,there are THOUSANDS of R4i

    I'd recommend buying a new cart,easy as that(as long as it doesn't have "R4" in it)
     
  3. Roxas Chaos0
    OP

    Newcomer Roxas Chaos0 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    ty 4 answering
     
  4. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    sure it will
    but like my friend suggested is better you stay away from any flash cart with name of r4
     
  5. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    it depends. There are 40 (or so) that do, and 20 (or so) that don't. You didn't specify which R4i you're talking about.
    It'd be much better to upgrade to an Acekard 2i though.
     
  6. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, R4s are all clones, so without a photo or two, the full name and the company website, we will not be able to tell which one you are talking about.

    That's the thing about R4s. They all try to pretend that they are the only real R4s, and then they all work differently.
    Plus, they generally suck.
     
  7. drag0nzord

    Newcomer drag0nzord Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Belvidere, IL
    Country:
    United States
    the r4i sdhc from http://www.r4i-sdhc.com/indexe.asp is a nice card

    it deserves more respect than its given.


    and yes, it does work in the DSi XL. very nicely actually.



    but you might as well buy an acekard or an m3
     
  8. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Um, that's a fake R4. This is the only official R4 available right now.
     
  9. drag0nzord

    Newcomer drag0nzord Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Belvidere, IL
    Country:
    United States

    it doesnt matter what the name is. when it comes down to it the r4i-sdhc that i linked can compete with the current more popular cards.

    if it wasnt called an r4 people wouldnt think anything of it

    im actually using it over my m3i zero in my dsi XL as of now because it works better with my SDHC card (sleep mode works) and it has 100% compatibility with HG/SS unlike the current version of sakura
     
  10. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, it's not that bad of a cart.
    The trouble is that the 'R4' in the name causes problems.
    Whenever you talk about your cart, it leaves an impression on people. And some of those people might be interested in getting into the flashcart scene.

    Now tell me, how many people are going to remember the particular type of R4 you are talking about?

    I think that most non-gbatemp people (the ignorant masses, as it were) go to markets to purchase their flashcarts. If one of them went off to a market, having read that the "R4i-SDHC ... is a nice card", then I think that he/she would go off and buy an R4! I mean, we all know that R4 sellers are as ignorant as hell, so of course he/she'll be saying that the "R4 Super Gold 5 Upgrade 6 is the only real cart!"
    And then we'll have one more R4-noob (not that you are one) posting on our forums, begging for a "PATCJ FOR POKEMANZ PLZ!".
     
  11. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    lol i clicked on the link and in the Introduction section it says this

    The R4DS Cartridge is the current top-of-the-line in DS SLOT-1 flash carts. It is just an amazing little device like original DS cart size, it is a complete solution with no need to purchase any additional components or deal with any messy software and truly the easiest media enhancer you have ever done; To simply put it, this is a must have peripheral for any regular DS/DS lite/DSi owner.

    lol do they just copy and paste it from 2 years ago?
     
  12. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Sounds like it [​IMG]
     
  13. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    And anyway the link to the official R4 website is www.r4ds.cn
     
  14. gary2010

    Member gary2010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    england
    Country:
    United States
    the r4-sdhc is a decent card and it cheap, i have got that one as a spare it does everything my acekard 2i does up to now plays all the latest games. reads all the cheat codes unlike my r4i gold which just freezes with cheats enabled. so yeah if you wanted any r4 the one from r4-sdhc.com is the only one i would get the 1.4 version with the game engine built in....but id still rather spend another 5 dollers and get an acekard
     
  15. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Depends. If the DSi XL is running on the same firmware as the DSi then it should, but Nintendo might add something new to block them.
     
  16. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    It is running 1.4U.
     

Share This Page