R4i Gold 3DS won't update

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Mikay, Apr 18, 2013.

Apr 18, 2013

R4i Gold 3DS won't update by Mikay at 2:09 PM (1,220 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Mikay
    OP

    Newcomer Mikay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hello, I can't seem to update my r4i gold using the latest patch in their website... I followed all the steps: I formatted the memory card, downloaded the latest firmware, downloaded the latest patch. So then I opened the menu for the patch, then pressed KEY_A, but then "card check" would display "Fail".

    By the way, I haven't updated my 3ds yet, it's still Ver. 4.3.0-9U. My r4i card is version "C".

    Help please?
     
  2. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    did you try with both of the nds files?
     
  3. Mikay
    OP

    Newcomer Mikay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yes, they both have the "Fail" status in "Card Check"...
     
  4. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    what game icon does your card use?
     
  5. Mikay
    OP

    Newcomer Mikay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Philippines
    It says "Dorasu"
     
  6. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    there is more than 1 Dorasu

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Mikay
    OP

    Newcomer Mikay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Philippines
    It's the first one...
     
  8. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    that icon is compatible with 3DS 5.1.0-11

    you dont need a firmware update as its on the latest
     
  9. Mikay
    OP

    Newcomer Mikay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Philippines
    Okay, thanks a lot!
     
  10. Mikay
    OP

    Newcomer Mikay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Philippines
    UPDATE: Um so I updated my firmware to 5.1.0-11U and now, unfortunately, the r4i gold doesn't work anymore.......... I think it's one of those old revicion "c" cards after all... sigh.
     
  11. Derek D

    Newcomer Derek D Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    China
    you can see 2 files in the update package. if you use a DSL to update, the file for DSL should be used.
    the other one is used on 3DS/DSi.

    when using DSL, there is a step to reject the card out and then reinsert it back to the console.
    at this moment you can get the SD card out and only put the Flashcard back to the console.

    that might work.
     
  12. Mikay
    OP

    Newcomer Mikay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Philippines
    The problem is, I don't have a DSi or DSL, just the 3ds, which I am using for the update...
     
  13. Liz Green
    This message by Liz Green has been removed from public view by Costello, Apr 26, 2013.
    Apr 19, 2013
  14. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    if it was indeed this icon you said
    [​IMG]

    it should indeed be working on 5.1.0-10

    the Older Rev C cards that got blocked
    are either
    [​IMG]if you applied the DSi 1.4.5 update
    or
    [​IMG]4.3.0-10 update
     
  15. Mikay
    OP

    Newcomer Mikay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hmm.. I wonder what the problem was... Maybe it works on 5.1.0-10, but not on 5.1.0-11U?
    When I tried to load the flash cart, it displays this message:
    "An error has occurred. Please hold the POWER Button to turn the system off. Please refer to the Operations Manual for details."
     

Share This Page