R4i (DSTTi clone)

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Kanahpoo, Mar 11, 2010.

Mar 11, 2010

R4i (DSTTi clone) by Kanahpoo at 8:59 PM (5,560 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Kanahpoo
    OP

    Newcomer Kanahpoo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    I ordered a R4 card online for my little brothers B-day and what i got was a R4i. Now it works fine on his DS lite, but there's this one thing that bothers me a bit: it doesn't (completely) support SKIN DIY.

    It's a R4i with firmware from http://www.r4-v.com/
    it has a red PCB so it's actually a DSTTi clone (which is also clear from the filestructure and the lack of direct slot-2 booting from the menu)

    So i'm actually looking for a way to change the skin, currently it looks a lot like this one:
    http://gbatemp.net/screenshots/[5771]Preview.png
    (without the slot-2 icon)

    Under the skin\ folder are only two bitmaps for the game menu:
    GAME_down.bmp (similar to "bckgrd_1.bmp")
    GAME_topp.bmp (similar to "bckgrd_2.bmp")

    So I browsed the files a little bit and found this in one of them (SYSTEM\R4i.ini):

    /Skin/Game_topp.bmp /_SYSTEM_/YSMenu1.bmp /TTMenu/YSMenu1.bmp /__ak2/YSMenu1.bmp /__rpg/YSMenu1.bmp
    /Skin/GAME_down.bmp /_SYSTEM_/YSMenu2.bmp /TTMenu/YSMenu2.bmp /__ak2/YSMenu2.bmp /__rpg/YSMenu2.bmp

    But i can't find the equivalents of "icons.bmp" or "logo.bmp" for the main menu anywere, i mean they must be somewhere on the card, no?
    Probably compiled or packed in a file? So with some trail and error (deleting files / looking at the filesize) i thought i managed to narrow it down, thinking it's the R4i.TP file,
    which is actually a renamed TTMENU.DAT file (from a DSTTi card). But DSTTi cards have a seperate DIY SKIN folder, so acually i'm back to square one.

    Any tips on how i might also change the theme of the main menu? (without the use of YSMenu)
     
  2. bennyroger

    Member bennyroger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Norway
    You could install the dstt 17a12 fakekiller removed software.
    Just rename TTMENU.DAT to the name your bootloader is looking for (could be r4i.dat or something else)
     
  3. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    To clarify, the loader will come with a folder and a file. Rename TTMENU.DAT to that.
     
  4. Kanahpoo
    OP

    Newcomer Kanahpoo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks i will give that a try.

    What does this fakekiller do?
    Cause i already tried the original DSTTMenu OS v1.17a12 but it didn't work.
     
  5. gisel213

    Member gisel213 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Delaware
    Country:
    United States
    Hey i found a hole a long time ago in the r4i-sdhc making it run dstt fw cause it is a dstti clone
    try this look at my thread and see if you can get it to work...

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=195...p;#entry2449132

    there are very detailed and easy instructions not to hard good luck....
     
  6. Kanahpoo
    OP

    Newcomer Kanahpoo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    Thx gisel312
    I tried this, but unfortunately it didn't work. I copied all files from the zip to (a freshly formatted) root and renamed the R4.dat to R4i.TP in order to get it to boot.
    But the DSL doesn't even boot the R4i menu, it keeps hangin on the "www.r4i-sdhc.com Loading ..."-screen

    Probably because its not really a card from www.r4i-sdhc.com but one with a red box, red PCB, yellow star with 1.4 from www.r4-v.com? (so a clone from a clone [​IMG])
    Or is it me? (also i'm using a DSL, not a DSi, but that can't be it, right?)

    Any ideas?

    (apparently i used a wrong (dutch) version of the v1.17a12 kernell, cause the english one boots, jeeeej!)
     
  7. andresrl01

    Newcomer andresrl01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Hey mate!

    I gues I bought the same r4i card as you, in mine I cant change the skins, it has all the files you mentioned in your post and plus its also made in red pcb with the letters r4i in one side of it....

    so I guess its a clone of a clone..... still all games work nice and only had problems with pokemon soulsilver wich freezes randomly, its still playable but I have to save often, wich leads to my question...

    I found that updating my kernel could fix the problem with pokemon but thing is that I dont know wich one should I use;
    my card is labeled as a Hyper R4i classica, but I tried using their files with no results besides a blank screen and there are tons of cards and kernels and firmwares....

    I have a dsi with 1.4 firmware and its says I have Hyper R4i's 1.56 kernel.... but I imagine this isnt true

    well any help will be greatly appreciated!
     
  8. Kanahpoo
    OP

    Newcomer Kanahpoo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    Well i used the DSTT_1.17a12 ENG firmware seen as mine was a DSTT clone, and i updated it with the latest infolibs .. that did it for me (on myDSlite)
    Don't really know if it will work on your Hyper R4i classica.
    1.56 is the right kernell i guess, perhaps try the latest kernell which apparently is 1.57 (http://www.hyper4i.com/download.php)

    Good luck!
     
  9. flamingo24

    Member flamingo24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    The Hyper R4i is a EZ Vi clone, not DSTT.
     
  10. laxman0220

    Member laxman0220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    r4-v is a clone of the r4i-sdhc which is a clone of the dstt :/
     

Share This Page