R4 Wood Stuck On Loading

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by oTAZZAo, May 15, 2012.

May 15, 2012

R4 Wood Stuck On Loading by oTAZZAo at 2:08 PM (6,076 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. oTAZZAo
    OP

    Newcomer oTAZZAo Newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Australia
    hi, haven't played ds for a while but got back onto it and i'm trying to play pokemon white, my current r4 card doesn't play it (comes up with a white screen). i'm assuming my r4 card is the version that has not has software updates for a few years, i've heard about wood and iv tried installing it. i've tried heaps of different versions and none work, they all come up with a "loading" screen and stay on it. i'm using a ds lite, an unknown version of r4 (presumably the one that has no software updates nowadays) and a 1gb micro sd (i also have access to 4gb one if needed)
    im just wondering if anyone could please tell me if it is actually possible for me to install wood and if so a step by step instructions on how to ? because i'm having lots of troubles.
    thank you :)

    (if you need any more info ill do my best to find it out :) )
     
  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,801
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you have an original, 1.1, or R4i Gold from this site here, then you can run Wood on it.
    First I suggest backing up your mircoSD card and reformatting with this program using these settings "FORMAT TYPE - FULL (OverWrite) : FORMAT SIZE ADJUSTMENT - ON."
    Then you download Wood R4 if you have an original or 1.1 clone. If you have R4i Gold, you download this one.
    Then you extract the file and copy the file named "_DS_MENU.DAT" and folder named "__rpg" directly to the root of your microSD.
    Last copy your homebrews and roms to where ever on the MicroSD. Normally I just have a folder named "NDS" for roms and "homebrews" for homebrews, it doesn't make a difference though.

    If after all that it still doesn't work, I don't think your R4 is the right card.
     
  3. oTAZZAo
    OP

    Newcomer oTAZZAo Newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for your help, i think my card might be the problem :(

    this is my card, any idea if its a clone or isn't going to work with wood ?
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  4. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
  5. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,801
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That card is not compatible with Wood R4.
    I suggest looking into this site here to find the kernel for it since it doesn't have a site on it.
     
  6. oTAZZAo
    OP

    Newcomer oTAZZAo Newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Australia
    argh :( sorry guys, nothings working, i don't have a clue what model it is, it says SDHC on the card but no SDHC softwares work with it :S maybe I'm out of luck with being able to play pokemon black... :(
     
  7. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,801
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    1 person likes this.
  8. oTAZZAo
    OP

    Newcomer oTAZZAo Newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Australia
    I can't thank you enough ! it runs even smoother then the old software did and it supports pokemon white ! thank you thank you thank you ! :yay:
     

Share This Page