R4 SDHC help

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by DethDonald, May 16, 2010.

May 16, 2010

R4 SDHC help by DethDonald at 10:53 PM (1,872 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

1. DethDonald
    OP

Newcomer DethDonald Member

United States
    Hello, I am new to this and need some help. I just bought a R4 SDHC for pretty cheap, it was a bit of an impulse buy. But now I'm looking at all the firmware that I can use, what I didn't realize was how limited I am. I wanted to use Wood but then I learned that the R4 SDHC was a clone and couldn't run this (right?). Then I read some conflicted messages about if I could use YSmenu. So what I'm asking is what firmware should I use, where to get it, and if there are any guides that describe how to install/use it.

Thanks guys, hopefully this isn't a common question that gets asked every few days.

2. azntiger

Member azntiger GBAtemp Regular

United States
    Yup your right you cant use wood with R4 SDHC

3. GreatCrippler

Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

United States
    Wood is a no go, but you can use YS menu.

4. DethDonald
    OP

United States
    Is there a guide somewhere on how to set it up for R4 SDHC?

Thanks for answering my stupid questions.

Sorry for the double post but this claims that Wood does work on R4 SDHC http://gbatemp.net/t221023-wood-r4-for-clones? . Theres so many damn contradictions on this site, now you understand why I'm so confused. Can someone confirm that Wood does or doesn't work and if this is the best choice for my card.

5. TrolleyDave

Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

United Kingdom
    Wood doesn't work for clones at the moment. The Wood for Clones is a project that's in development.

6. DethDonald
    OP

United States
    So technicaly it works but is in an early stage? I think I understand now but I must ask again, what firmware is suggested for me to use YSMenu or this Wood for clones project.

7. hundshamer

Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

United States