R4 Revolution 3 for DS

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by prec_tec, Nov 26, 2008.

Nov 26, 2008

R4 Revolution 3 for DS by prec_tec at 10:54 PM (5,225 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. prec_tec
    OP

    Newcomer prec_tec Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I am an M3 buyer usually but thought I give R4 a go, I’m nice like that. So I decided to purchase 15, R4 Revolution III from Tecknet via Amazon as I heard they are the next best thing.

    I didn't realise there was so much speculation over the product I ordered so I thought I would clear some questions up and raise a few.

    I have seen the original R4 packaging before and what the R4 Rev 3 arrived in was something quite different. The box was much smaller, the USB pen is the same but the label writing on the card is slightly different, it says Super Card in large writing and then under it in small writing it says R4 Revolution 3 for DS.

    You can view the packaging here:

    http://www.tecknetdirect.co.uk/Search.aspx?str=r4

    There is a website on the packaging that says

    http://www.ndslr4.com

    This is a genuine site and is in mandarin, you can get the latest SYSTEM FILE there for Rev 3 cards only, the system file from any other R4 site will NOT work on Rev 3!!! Believe me I've tried

    This site doesn’t always connect for me, I sometimes get an out of service message, so keep trying.
    If this card has a problem, for me it would be getting hold of the system file updates.

    As for the SDHC, I can confirm that it will work with Sandisk 4gb cards and suspect it should with larger cards and other brands.

    There doesn't appear to be any problems playing games on it, I downloaded all the newest games to check its compatibility and it ran them all flawlessly.

    Last but not least, the question you all want to know the answer to, the question thats been on your mind since you began reading this info, thats right, you know what i'm talking about......

    IS IT A REAL R4 CARD OR A CLONE?

    The answer is, I don't know, but I know this, it plays all games and runs SDHC cards
    So the question really should be.......
    DOES IT MATTER?

    Personally, I think it is a genuine product from the makers of the original R4 but looks to only be circulating in China as there is no UK site. Maybe Tecknet went over there, saw this product and bought it.

    If you know for fact that is a clone then state your source

    The one question I really want answering about this card is can it damage your DS so you can't play original games?
    I have read a few accounts that say it can

    If a guy at the pub said its fake and you think well it must be true, don't bother answering
     
  2. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a clone, it's already been discussed loads of times. The R4 Team themselves confirmed it.
     
  3. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    it's a clone of an outdated card. get either the cyclods or acekard 2. have a good day
     
  4. laminaatplaat

    Member laminaatplaat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    and why did you buy 15 outdated peace of shit R4 fake cards with out doing proper research! The info is right on this very website if you would have taken the time to look it up or ask questions.
     
  5. kingkong

    Banned kingkong Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    a lot of people still want to buy r4 so theres a market to buy 15 or 50 r4s if get a good price.

    a lot of these people will be 100% happy with the r4 cos its the best piece of electronic ever!

    and nobody of them will ever regret buying r4!

    these kiddies bashing r4 i remember them bashing nintendo gamecube when ps2 came out!
     
  6. ENDscape

    Member ENDscape REBORN! I will post with my Dying Will!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    ``orz
    Country:
    Philippines
    The question is: If these damn n00bs have games that wont work, will we respond to their retarded plea for help?
     
  7. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They'll regret it when they start needing to Arm patch their games and there clueless about how to do it. More and more stuff isn't working on the R4, clones or real.
     
  8. prec_tec
    OP

    Newcomer prec_tec Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hi Guys,

    Thanks for your replies.

    Tecknet have agreed to accept these cards back, I will let you know how I get on with that.
     
  9. Canonbeat234

    Member Canonbeat234 Redeemed Temper

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Japan
    Don't lose your creditability while you're ahead. =)
     

Share This Page