r4 --> Partly Chinese?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Shadz, Nov 16, 2008.

Nov 16, 2008

r4 --> Partly Chinese? by Shadz at 11:57 AM (2,195 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi guys, my r4 has been working like a charm but then i added a cheat compilation and now the language for some stuff is in Chinese or Korean or something (definitely symbols) and i dont know.

    Its just the stuff like where it used to say "loading game" and the buttons/icons in the CHEAT (Y) option. If anybody could tell me how to fix or help me fix i would be very happy =).
     
  2. Votkrath

    Member Votkrath GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Sweden
    Update your firmware.

    And to answer the thread's topic, no, it's not partly Chinese, it's 100% Chinese with English language added.
     
  3. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure they are not just Chinese or whatever cheats!?
     
  4. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    well, the firmware is updated to v1.18 which is the most recent. And yes, im sure the cheats arent chinese because:

    1) i took it from this site.
    2) the part where it says "game loading" is in Chinese as well.
     
  5. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you got a Chinese instead of an English R4? Is it definitely the English firmware you're running?
     
  6. tangyi

    Newcomer tangyi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    China
    Country:
    China
    use english version kernel of R4 and edit the code by yourself with official Cheat Code Editor
     
  7. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Its definetly an English R4, ive had since December 07 and its ALL been english and running brilliantly until about 2 weeks ago, when it started saying stuff in Chinese (such as game loading), which was about the time i added a new CHEAT.DAT and usrcheat.dat to the system. I think there is a patch or something along those lines to make it all english but i cant find it anywhere...
     
  8. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Kkz, ill give it a try in a minute.
     
  10. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    That's an easy one to check unless its been re-cased ..... as usually original Chinese R4 cards are/were White in color [​IMG]



    This could also be the cheat flaw of R4 ds cards having a cheat file thats too big to be used ...

    So if you have no need to use Chinese cheats at all then just use the CHEAT(UE).DAT from Narin's cheat files instead of the USRCHEAT file as this does not contain the Chinese cheats that swell the cheat file to beyond the R4 capability's [​IMG]

    note its advised to use either ONE of the cheat files.. and NOT BOTH as it can cause issues/conflicts with the other cheats in the other file [​IMG]
     
  11. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    now i get a message saying "the hardware is not compatible"....Shittttt
     
  12. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    copy everything OFF the card to computer and then format your memory card ....

    copy back the FULL ENGLISH R4 1.18 kernel files

    I have a mirror for them here

    unzip the file and copy the files to your mem card as before

    make a folder and call it ROMS or GAMES put all of your backed up save files and game files into this folder (reason mem cards suffer with a maximum of 512 files in the root folder issue try any more and it will say error or full even though there is still space on the card! this includes sav files along with game files and other files music,pics etc)

    then put the CHEAT(UE).DAT file on the card and remove any that are there already and try just the 1 cheat file [​IMG]
     
  13. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Problem Solved, After i tried the chinese version, i got the old 1.18 english off my pc and juts chucked it all on, and VOILA its english. Thanx for the help people.
     
  14. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No worries thats what we are here for [​IMG]
     

Share This Page