R4 DS Vs Acekard 2

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by eldhand, Sep 15, 2008.

Sep 15, 2008

R4 DS Vs Acekard 2 by eldhand at 9:06 PM (7,507 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. eldhand
    OP

    Member eldhand GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Sweden
    Should I keep my R4 or buy a Acekard 2?

    And please explain why, because I know may will say Acekard 2 but I don't really understand the very big different .

    And do someone know if I can buy from Amazon.com if I live from Sweden, or If i should buy a acekard 2 where should I buy it, remember I live in Sweden.
     


  2. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Well, The R4 team is pretty much dead, and the sept. 15th hasn't been released, and the AK2 supports SDHC.
     
  3. eldhand
    OP

    Member eldhand GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Sweden
    That didn't help.............
     
  4. kai445

    Member kai445 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    United States
    I originally had a v1 R4 that I had purchased a long time ago, got a 1GB Kingston (J) card for it, and kept up to date on firmware. Played lots of games, and absolutely loved the card.

    One day I lost it, absolutely could not find it anywhere. Two weeks pass, so I decided I need to do something about it. After reading some reviews and looking around, I order an AceKard 2, a 4GB Class 6 microSDHC, and a EZFlash 3-in-1 (all from DealExtreme).

    Alright, so I set it up, put on AKAIO and off I go. The GUI is slick, all games I've tried play fine, and GBA games are sweet too.

    So a few days ago I found my R4. It fell down behind my desk and was behind a pile of books.

    I gave the R4 away [​IMG]
     
  5. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    you cant really go wrong with getting rid of an r4, your best bet is to sell it, cause there are some suckers who dont understand that the r4 is virtually the worst cart on the market today, you should easily be able to get $50 for it, if not easily more
     
  6. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States


    hehe^^^^the BoneMonkey quote makes me laugh


    anywho,
    R4= DEAD

    AK= ALIVE and kicking
     
  7. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the ak is a great kit for under 25$ bucks. it has very high rom compatibility, homebrew compatibility, no save limit problems, advanced skinning options, auto dldi support, micro sdhc support, and opensource firmware. well the firmware isn't opensource, but it has been provided so smiths and normmatt can add it to AKAIO. and on that subject AKAIO is the best firmware i have used yet. plus they are open to new ideas and seem interested in keeping the development alive.

    you won't regret the purchase. i just picked up an ak rpg and so far i am loving every second of it.

    -another world
     
  8. ozzymud

    Member ozzymud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    The only thing to watch out for is that dreaded "bad batch", just make sure you get one of the Acekard v1.2 (see here)

    past that.. the only thing i could say about the Acekard2 is DITTO:

    Waiting on my ak2 to come back, hopefully v1.2... but enjoying the hell outta my ak rpg in the meantime!
     
  9. eldhand
    OP

    Member eldhand GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Sweden
    So where should I buy it if I live in sweden(which website)
     
  10. g4med4d

    Member g4med4d GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    United States
    From dealextreme.com

    I still kept my R4 as a backup but I've an AK2 and a CycloDS. Love the AK2 UI.
    Some games can't be played on the R4 w/o a patch due to lack of firmware updates.
     
  11. eldhand
    OP

    Member eldhand GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Sweden
    Of course I gonna keep my R4, but I want buy a better flash card.

    So dealextreme.com is good, even if I live in Sweden, I mean the shipping price.
     
  12. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    They have free worldwide shipping.
     
  13. eldhand
    OP

    Member eldhand GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Sweden
    Do they takes bills, if you know what I mean, I'm not that good in english.

    But you are from sweden, so I ask on swedish:
    Tar dom fakturer eller måste man betala före dom skickar?
     
  14. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They use paypal.

    Paypal accept most major credit or debit cards.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    many people here are just stating that the rpg is a great cart, which is completely true, not its not something that can be compared to ak2, its 2 completely different things, as great as ak2 is, its no match for rpg in any way
     
  16. SargeSmash

    Member SargeSmash GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    United States
    Definitely keep your old R4. While it's not being updated properly, it's worked for me perfectly for a good while now (1.5 years or so). I'm still not sure how well my AK2 will hold up.
     
  17. pitprop

    Newcomer pitprop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I still prefer the quick speedy access of the R4 to the acekard 2.

    The Acekard GUI looks prettier and has more features ( which in truth you hardly ever use). But the R4 boots straight into the menus fast. I also like the separate media/games options at the start ( i have set the media button to run M3 Sakura as the media player - its much slicker than moonshell).
     
  18. chiseen

    Newcomer chiseen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    But the Acekard 2 does not override the DS Menu, so Download Play can be selected without removing the flash cart.
     
  19. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    of course the r4 loads menus faster, since its so hardware less, and featureless it doesnt have to load anything but a background picture...
     
  20. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    If you want your AK to auto-boot do this...

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     

Share This Page