Quick Ace Combat X2 question

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Blaze163, Aug 30, 2010.

Aug 30, 2010

Quick Ace Combat X2 question by Blaze163 at 11:45 PM (1,394 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Blaze163
    OP

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I love the Ace Combat series. You probably figured that out by my name. But if not...I do. So naturally I'll be wanting to play the new game for PSP. I'm on 5.50 Prometheus right now but with large games I tend to just buy the UMD's because my memory card is only 4GB and I like to keep as much on there as I can. Games like Valkyrie Profile, Crisis Core, etc.

    What I want to know is:

    A) Will ACX2 work on Prometheus as an ISO/CSO? If so, what sort of file size should I expect?
    B) If I buy the disk, will it work on Prometheus, or will it require an update? If so, is there an update on the way to CFW to bypass the issue?
    C) I have a spare battery kicking around. Is it true I can make a Pandora Battery using just my existing flashed PSP? How is it done?
     
  2. FlashX007

    Newcomer FlashX007 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 1GB memory stick that can do that for you. For your third question. I do not know how it can be done but I do have the stuff on the 1GB for it to be done. My friend gave me it when he gave me my PSP. Has alot of useful files and etc. in it so I tend to keep it like that.
     
  3. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry....edited out. It's about 1.64 Gb's. Prometheus firmware probably won't work but the plugin may do. You'd be better patching yourself.

    It depends what sort of PSP Motherboard you have in your Slim PSP. (All PSP 1000's can softmod batteries). You'd use Cory's OSPBT or some other similar tool. Of course unless it's a genuine battery it may not be pandorable.
     
  4. Blaze163
    OP

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm on a PSP 1000. What do I do to softmod this battery? Worth having a Pandora around.
     
  5. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. Blaze163
    OP

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it seriously 1.64GB?! I'd have to delete half my collection for that. To hell with it, nt worth the time. Gonna take all damn day to download the patched version (four parts at 450MB zips each) then reconstitution of the actual ISO from the four parts, then deleting damn near everything to make room for it. Worth doing or not? I can't use the UMD because A) It's not out in the UK yet, and B) from what I've heard the UMD requires an update to start, meaning it will F up my 5.50 Prometheus settings, not worth losing 10 games for one.
     
  7. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have no idea why you stick so doggedly with Prometheus, when so many others are already fed up with it. Just learn to flash different firmwares, and either get pre-patched games or patch them yourself. There's no reason why you shouldn't play the game if you have at least a 2Gb stick.

    Also that's the JPN multi6 release. The US version may have less languages and be smaller. We'll know tonight/tomorrow.
     
  8. Blaze163
    OP

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The multi6 version I found is pre-patched and confirmed working on Prometheus 5.50. It's just gonna kill my memory card to play it. Might just buy a new card, saves deleting things.
     
  9. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'm DL'ing this game now,
    once it's done i'll see how much junk can be deleted.

    you can be pretty sure that the 6.20 or 6.30 update is gonna be 100meg+ just for a start.
    also, if yous short on space you should use CSO's
     
  10. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as i can gather the current release has full Japanese and English audio. I'm sure the US release on the PSN today will be smaller.
     
  11. Blaze163
    OP

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All academic now anyway as the connection just died, and now it won't re-establish. Meaning I have half the game. Decided to just say 'Fuck it' and make some lunch instead, it's not worth the hassle. Besides, ACX ran slow as hell or had problems with audio files cropping up in the wrong places, so if this is much the same I'd delete it anyway. Screw it, will wait until there's a new CFW that can allow the UMD to run without an update, then buy the damn thing.
     
  12. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You had issues with your ACX because you opted for a ripped and compressed version to save space. If you'd gone with a standard ISO then it'd have been fine.
     
  13. FlashX007

    Newcomer FlashX007 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    United States
    Are all the latest games like this? I am worried if my CFW can handle it. I currently have 5.50 Prometheus. Should I downgrade to 5.00 m33? I don't know how to patch and etc. and I don't plan on doing so. I just want the CFW that can offer me the best experience in compatibility and more. Also sorry about my earlier post I felt stupid when I re-read it. I can still offer you the memory stick but I just request that you send it back.
     
  14. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you want to downgrade to m33 or a GEN without decryption.

    then get or make iso's with the prometheus patch built in.
    the patch is much newer than the firmware or plugin.

    Blaze163 - your gonna have a long wait if you want 6.20/6.30CFW - i doubt it will ever happen.
    we have great firmware,
    we have the prometheus patch.

    the other stuff in the new firmware is just gonna get ripped & converted for CFM seperatly.
    the comic reader is being beta tested on the chinese forums with m33 & gen for example.
     

Share This Page