Hacking Question Regarding Luma3ds

MrMcTiller

GBATemp's Tiller
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1,185
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Iowa
XP
1,570
Country
United States
Just a quick question. Is it OK that I installed Luma3ds 8.1.1 to FIRM0? It seems to run fine. Will it break anything?
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
Asshai
XP
2,961
Country
United States
Just a quick question. Is it OK that I installed Luma3ds 8.1.1 to FIRM0? It seems to run fine. Will it break anything?
Well for one it's not supported so if you have issues, you're on your own as far as dev support which is a pretty big deal IMO. Quoted from the Luma Github,
Luma can now boot on its own as FIRM0/1 (although note this is not recommended or supported at all and we very strongly recommend using boot9strap)"

That and you'll have to reinstall it each time there is a Luma update.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I'll also say that I don't know how well versed you are to attempt things that should only be used by developers (no offense). There is a reason it's not officially supported.

Use at your own risk more or less.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrMcTiller

MrMcTiller

GBATemp's Tiller
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1,185
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Iowa
XP
1,570
Country
United States
Well for one it's not supported so if you have issues, you're on your own as far as dev support which is a pretty big deal IMO. Quoted from the Luma Github,
Luma can now boot on its own as FIRM0/1 (although note this is not recommended or supported at all and we very strongly recommend using boot9strap)"

That and you'll have to reinstall it each time there is a Luma update.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I'll also say that I don't know how well versed you are to attempt things that should only be used by developers (no offense). There is a reason it's not officially supported.

Use at your own risk more or less.
OK, Thank You. I didn't know that the Github says that. I was just messing around with GM9 and noticed the "Install FIRM" option. I created a sysnand backup and tested it out. I will reinstall B9S now.
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
Asshai
XP
2,961
Country
United States
OK, Thank You. I didn't know that the Github says that. I was just messing around with GM9 and noticed the "Install FIRM" option. I created a sysnand backup and tested it out. I will reinstall B9S now.
NO problem. At least you made a backup prior, that itself is impressive these days Lol. (Again, nothing personal just speaking in general) :D
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
Asshai
XP
2,961
Country
United States
Oh, One more question. I am using Luma3ds-4116c1e. Does that do anything different than the normal Luma3ds?

EDIT: It is Luma3ds 8.1.1-4116c1e i think
That's a nightly, so it's more prone to incompatibilities than the stable 8.1.1 releases. Again, they are use at your own risk and mainly for developers to identify bugs before the next stable release. If you have issues, revert to the stable one.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrMcTiller

MrMcTiller

GBATemp's Tiller
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1,185
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Iowa
XP
1,570
Country
United States
That's a nightly, so it's more prone to incompatibilities than the stable 8.1.1 releases. Again, they are use at your own risk and mainly for developers to identify bugs before the next stable release. If you have issues, revert to the stable one.
OK, I just like the way it tells you where it is booting from on the bottom screen of the setup. Example: "Booted From SD via FIRM0" Is there a way to make the stable version do that?
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
Asshai
XP
2,961
Country
United States
OK, I just like the way it tells you where it is booting from on the bottom screen of the setup. Example: "Booted From SD via FIRM0" Is there a way to make the stable version do that?
Well, that's what the nightly is Lol. You'll just have to wait for the next stable release after new commits/ bugs are worked on etc. It's up to the development team when they decide the commits are stable enough to release.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrMcTiller

MrMcTiller

GBATemp's Tiller
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1,185
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Iowa
XP
1,570
Country
United States
Well, that's what the nightly is Lol. You'll just have to wait for the next stable release after new commits/ bugs are worked on etc. It's up to the development team when they decide the commits are stable enough to release.
OK, Thanks For All The Help! :D
 

ayanekochan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2015
Messages
202
Trophies
0
Age
64
XP
133
Country
United States
I just started playing my 3ds again and I'm still currently on al9h Luma and updated to latest fw. Can anyone tell me the difference upgrading to b9s? So far everything is working great and apparently I missed the great ban wave period back when b9s first came out.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrMcTiller

MrMcTiller

GBATemp's Tiller
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1,185
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Iowa
XP
1,570
Country
United States
I just started playing my 3ds again and I'm still currently on al9h Luma and updated to latest fw. Can anyone tell me the difference upgrading to b9s? So far everything is working great and apparently I missed the great ban wave period back when b9s first came out.
What do you mean by "the difference upgrading to b9s"?

If you mean what is different between the two, B9S cannot be "patched" without a hardware update. (Nintendo would have to take your system and replace some things to "patch" it.)
 
Last edited by MrMcTiller,

ayanekochan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2015
Messages
202
Trophies
0
Age
64
XP
133
Country
United States
What do you mean by "the difference upgrading to b9s"?

If you mean what is different between the two, B9S cannot be "patched" without a hardware update. (Nintendo would have to take your system and replace some things to "patch" it.)

Would I be missing out on any major features? It seems like all my games are working great on al9h, so I'm just wondering what else I would gain from upgrading to b9s other than the fact that it cannot be patched and Luma can update.
 

MrMcTiller

GBATemp's Tiller
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1,185
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Iowa
XP
1,570
Country
United States
Would I be missing out on any major features? It seems like all my games are working great on al9h, so I'm just wondering what else I would gain from upgrading to b9s other than the fact that it cannot be patched and Luma can update.
It really does the same thing, but it executes earlier in the boot. It has some other features, but mostly for devs. I strongly suggest updating from A9LH to B9S.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DEEP_STEEL

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Sup dude! Hope you're well
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    pretty alright all things considering
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    especially after the latest news!
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    what's the latest news? 👀
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    hubby and I can finally leave all of this financial hell behind us
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    July 1st
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    wonderful to hear!! :D
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    still feels a little unreal to me, after so many delays and other things that gotten in the way
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    already gotten the cats a new scratching paradise as a little celebration haha
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ahhhh that's awesome, I hope they're enjoying it :)
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Lady already claimed a platform and beaten Adolf out off off the house underneath it
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    the fat one seems to have claimed the lower larger house
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @DinohScene, promotion?
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    nope, court ruling
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    long story short; hubby is debt free and financially independent from July 1st onwards
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    UK courts actually doing justice :0
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Congrats either way
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    cheers!
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    it's been a long journey
  • cearp @ cearp:
    nice to hear that buddy!
  • cearp @ cearp:
    now you can take on new debt :D (joking but that's actually

    life for most people)
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Nah, we won't take on debts lol
    +2
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: Nah, we won't take on debts lol +2