Question about Uncompressing and compressing bins

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by matthewn4444, Mar 7, 2009.

1. matthewn4444
    OP

Member matthewn4444 GBAtemp Regular

United States
    I looked around the in forums and didn't really find a clear answer. In 7th dragon, there are a lot of bin files, and I was wondering how to uncompress them, and then later compress them back to the bin files. Also, I believe that there are multiple font files (probably all in the font bin files) and I want to know how to direct them the text to them to translate into english. I read a little on pointers but I need to try it myself to understand. I'm sorry if this thread is an inconvenience since I am still a noob at translating.

2. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    "Disclaimer" I have not pulled apart this game yet so this is general advice.

bin is a generic extension across all of computing let alone the DS and has no real meaning like sdat, nftr, narc and the like have for the DS. I would back your call that the font or at least part of it is in the font.bin files, how they are stored is a different matter (try in a tile viewer/editor first, they could be tiled fonts, they could be assembled from parts (see the likes of http://deufeufeu.free.fr/wiki/index.php?ti...rmat_.28font.29 ) or they could be even more complex (see NFTR).

Also how confident are you the files are compressed (I assume you mean compression as in shrunk not how do I unpack the file into something more usable)? It can be quite hard to tell without a frame of reference (if the text is character set you recognise, see something like http://www.romhacking.net/docs/281/ you can but graphics can be hard, especially without resorting to assembly coding)