Question about recovering from perma-brick

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Zendeavor, Jan 14, 2009.

Jan 14, 2009
  1. Zendeavor
    OP

    Newcomer Zendeavor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so I've just really been reading around.

    But say, for example, I bricked my wii completely. Like, full-brick.

    But my system is 3.2U with Starfall already.

    So, if I got bricked and I loaded up files on my SD as wads, like maybe original IOS files, a legit sysmenu wad, just the things I need to reset my wii back to something like factory 3.2U settings.

    Would I be able to hold Y on a 'cube controller and load up TP and perform the hack to start up a wadmanager boot.dol, then browse through and install the recovery files? Or maybe pull a controller apart and hold up+down+left+right on the d-pad to boot up?

    I'm mostly just confusing myself here. But I think I stated it clearly enough for you to answer me.
     
  2. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    By perma-brick, do you mean removal of the ios that system menu uses or the system menu itself?

    In that case, no software solution for you...
     
  3. Zendeavor
    OP

    Newcomer Zendeavor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    well what is the most severe brick i could recover from on 3.2u/starfall?
     
  4. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    banner brick
    any low level brick you would a Nand Flasher and a dump of your Nand.img
     
  5. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    I corrupted my system files last week - i had just installed preloader (thank god) and i was able to just book into homebrew and install systemmenu-3-2e.wad and it resotred the system menu perfectly - its a great tool !!!
     

Share This Page