Question about older USB linker and Vista 64bit

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by muckers, Jul 5, 2009.

Jul 5, 2009
  1. muckers
    OP

    Member muckers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Warwickshire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right, so about six years ago I got a Flash2Advance USB linker and a 256mbit cart. I've still got them, and they both still work.

    Until now, I'd been using it with my old XP computer with (obviously) no problems.

    That computer died a few weeks ago, so I got myself a new one. A very flashy new desktop PC, AMD processor and 64-bit Windows Vista Home Premium.

    But of course, the drivers that have been written for the F2A usb linker are all designed for 32-bit systems. I had the same problem with my wireless card, but in that case I could just go onto the website and download 64bit drivers.

    Are there any for the F2A? Or any way of 'emulating' a 32-bit environment for that device?

    I'd hate to have to retire the linker to the attic seeing as there's nothing wrong with the linker or the cart!

    Any suggestions guys?
     
  2. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't think there are 64Bit drivers available for these carts, but you could try Ucon64. IIRC it supports the 256MBit F2A carts.
     
  3. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Read my sig about 32 and 64 bit information, it applies to EVERYTHING GBA that uses drivers.

    And for good measure, there is NO SUCH THING AS COMPATIBILITY MODE FOR DRIVERS.

    It is better to have a crap box with XP or lower to deal with gba drivers than to try and get them working in Vista or soon to be Windows 7.
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately, they fact that you're using Vista is more of a setback than the fact that you're using a 64-bit OS. I can only use my F2AU cart on my old computer for this reason, as my new laptop has Vista.

    I'm tempted to try if2a under Knoppix or something like that, one of these days.
     

Share This Page