Question about ios56

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Pete666, Oct 30, 2010.

Oct 30, 2010

Question about ios56 by Pete666 at 4:42 PM (1,075 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Pete666
    OP

    Member Pete666 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello

    My wii is in 4.2 u and I want to install the latest shop channel...

    Is it safe to install ios56 (latest version) with an old version of the system menu??? any risk of brick?

    Thank you
     
  2. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yes it is safe. And since most new games/wiiware are using this IOS is good to update anyway.
     
  3. Pete666
    OP

    Member Pete666 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay thanx a lot! Exemple: if I have a 4.0 wii did update is safe too???

    thanx again for fast reply!
     
  4. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    The only time you have to worry about stub IOS actually breaking anything is if you're upgrading a system menu IOS. System menu IOS aren't used for games ever, so there is never any reason to update them. Likewise if you're just updating an IOS a game uses, you have no chance to brick your system menu... assuming of course you're installing the right IOS [​IMG]
     
  5. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    The only IOS's that you really need to be cautious with are: IOS9, IOS11, IOS20, IOS30, IOS40, IOS50, IOS60, IOS70, and IOS80. This, however, doesn't mean that you should just go around messing with IOS's without knowing what you're doing.
     
  6. Pete666
    OP

    Member Pete666 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    Canada
    okay thanx again!

    I'll install ios56 soon and get back with a feedback!!!!
     
  7. Pete666
    OP

    Member Pete666 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    Canada
    can I install this ios with wad manager?
     
  8. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    I had to trucha my IOS 70 to run my wad wiiware from the SD card menu, but other than that...
    BTW, I like to use DOP-MII to install my IOSes
     
  9. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    That's different though, you're not upgrading an IOS, you're installing a patched system menu IOS just so you can run pirated WADS.
     

Share This Page