Question about Desmume

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by someonewhodied, Jan 29, 2011.

Jan 29, 2011

Question about Desmume by someonewhodied at 10:34 PM (1,326 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. someonewhodied
    OP

    Member someonewhodied Lazy Person

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    869
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any way to emulate wifi with a wireless pci card?
    My desktop computer is waaayyy too far from my router to use wired connection.
     
  2. Multiskin

    Member Multiskin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    somewhere you don't wanna know
    Country:
    Brazil
    yea but i'm not sure how you can do that
     
  3. xdarkx

    Member xdarkx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    Canada
    *facepalm*
     
  4. Multiskin

    Member Multiskin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    somewhere you don't wanna know
    Country:
    Brazil
    i mean i know that you can do that, but i don't remember how, i think you just need to connect on games normaly after going to config in desmume menu and then wi-fi settings
     
  5. Poryhack

    Member Poryhack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    You're misinterpreting the question. It's possible to "emulate" wifi in DeSmuMe but you can't use an actual wifi connection to do it. It needs to be a wired ethernet connection. Sorry someonewhodied I guess you need a long cable.
     
  6. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    I'm amazed it makes a difference whether you used wired or wireless. You would think it would just use whatever internet you have.
     
  7. krutomisi

    Newcomer krutomisi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    it shouldn't make any difference because DeSmuMe
    is still getting internet no matter what kind of connection you're using


    unless it does some kind of weird hackish kind of stuff to get it to work
     
  8. xdarkx

    Member xdarkx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    Canada
    DeSmuME is trying to win an internet?

    On topic:
    Wifi is still under development, so as far as anyone is concern, they shouldn't touch the Wifi function (which is disable by default) in DeSmuME. From what I heard from one of the developers, not only will you risk getting DeSmuME from ever connecting to Wifi, but Nintendo might perm ban your IP if they detected you using DeSmuME when connecting to Wifi.
     
  9. Poryhack

    Member Poryhack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    I understand it seems kinda illogical at first but it has to do with winpcap not working as well with wifi network cards versus ethernet cards. By all means try it but I'm just repeating what the developers posted.
     

Share This Page