Question about BootMii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Sajiko, Aug 3, 2009.

Aug 3, 2009

Question about BootMii by Sajiko at 6:59 AM (2,288 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    I used a 64MB SD card to mod a virgin 4.1U Wii and install BootMii as Boot2. To be safe I wanted to make a backup of the NAND before installing the final piece cIOSCorp 3.1

    The NAND is 600MB so I obviously cannot use the 64MB card. So I copied all the contents of that SD card to my PC and transferred it to my 8GB SD Card. I pop in the 8GB SD Card and turn on the Wii and it doesn't boot to BootMii. If this Wii ever bricked and I do not have the original 512MB will I be screwed? How do I get the 8GB to boot BootMii?



    Also as an additional question, if BootMii was installed by IOS how does that make a difference? I ask because these memory cards are used for different things so I don't want to screw myself over if I ever format this card when I shouldn't.


    Edit: I turned on the Wii with the 64MB inserted and got to the BootMii menu, then I took it out of the Wii and put in the 8GB card and then dumped the NAND. Now in the PC it shows nand.bin as being 0KB. I thought it was a 600MB file, did something screw up?
     
  2. Justin121994

    Member Justin121994 Bitcoin. coinbase.com/andrew

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    Country:
    United States
    OK try this. Boot it up with ur small sd card so wai when ur in the bootmii screen,.And switch it with ur 8 gb and then make a backup. Thats wat i did. Oh make sure you have the bootmii files and both of them.. See if it works. Or else just wait till ur card gets supported.
     
  3. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks I tried that (see edit) lol but the NAND shows zero kb! But when I clicked on properties of the card it said 500+ MB are being used when there is only like 20mb on data on the 8GB card...

    I am really confused. Also mainly I want to know if there is a way if I brick this Wii and have NO SD card, can I go to the store buy a brand new SD card and copy every file that were made originally on my 512MB to this new SD card and boot it from there?
     
  4. Justin121994

    Member Justin121994 Bitcoin. coinbase.com/andrew

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Well try beta 1 then. My 2gb card doesn/t work on beta 2 but on the first one yess lol. So install beta one and see if it works on your 8 gb.
     
  5. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    I have no clue what that is lol
     
  6. Justin121994

    Member Justin121994 Bitcoin. coinbase.com/andrew

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Ummm there were to two releases soo far try the first one that came out. Google hackmii installer beta 1 O.o
     
  7. 105167

    Newcomer 105167 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    Not really related to the initial question.

    But can you make multiple NAND backups to the same SD card?

    Also, do you have to do a NAND backup on to the same SD card with Bootmii on it? Or could I load bootmii with my normal SD, then switch SD cards to do a restore?
     
  8. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    That is kinda what I am trying to figure out lol
     
  9. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    You can only have one NAND backup on an SD card at a time, but you can back the nand.bin up to your pc and then make a new one on the same card and keep doing that if you want multiple backups.

    As for the 0kb problem, if you skipped the verification when it allowed you to, it will make that happen. DO NOT SKIP VERIFICATION.

    Also did you copy the bootmii folder over to the 8GB card from the 64MB one?
     
  10. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have a micro SD and a normal SD adapter ?

    [​IMG]

    these work [​IMG] (although not tested with over 2gb cards ..1gb and 2gb cards work!)
     
  11. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    Btw, if there is a problem with any sd/sdhc card the panasonic sd formatter could help.
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=4003

    That's no joke!
    Before i read something about this tool bootmii wouldn't recognize an 4gb Kingston sdhc and one 2gb sd card from Tanscend.
    Both cards work fine on my pc and i format them again and again with Windows as FAT and FAT32, but they didn't work in my Wii.

    After i format them with the panasonic sd formatter they work also with bootmii.

    I don't know why and i didn't understand what's the different between FAT and FAT, but it's true.
     
  12. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh haha that might be my problem.

    And yes I copied ALL contents from the 64MB to the 8GB one and the 8GB one doesn't go to BootMii but the 64MB will and a new 512MB stick also does when I copy the files.

    I bought a 2GB MicroSD card with SD adapter today and that didn't work either. I will try NAND dump without skipping verification and see if that works!
     
  13. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    I bought the 2Gb SD Card for Wii with the Nintendo Seal and it works like a charm!
     
  14. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    make sure that the micro sd is pushed in properly to the adapter and make sure the LOCK is not slipped on on the adapter and make sure its pushed in firmly into the Wii ... just be careful though some adapters can get stuck they can be removed but takes a little more effort [​IMG]

    make sure you have formatted the micro sd first and that its FAT not FAT32 [​IMG]
     
  15. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    After let verify the NAND shows 528MB on the 8GB SD card. I used the 512MB to boot BootMii and then switched it out for the 8GB to back up the NAND. Seems to work.


    Also with the 2GB I did format in both FAT and FAT32 and made sure it could be read by PC, and Wii but still doesn't boot the BootMii.

    Has anyone gotten a card over 1GB to boot BootMii?
     
  16. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry for the double post but I have another new question.

    Ok so you know how BootMii creates the bootmii folder on the SD card right? Is that the ONLY folder (with the 3 files inside) I need on the SD card (and NAND on SD Root if I want to install the NAND if I bricked) in order for the Wii to boot up in BootMii? And if so, are the 3 files inside the BootMii folder:

    ppcboot.elf
    armboot.bin
    bootmii.ini

    Are those 3 files unique to each Wii? In other words if I back up my bootmii folder and mod family members and they brick in the future can I use my BootMii folder that was created on my Wii with those 3 files on their Wii without any issue (obviously using their NAND backup)? Or do I have to use the bootmii folder that was created on their Wii on their Wii console.
     
  17. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    yes you can use your cards settings I have a backup of my entire card when I do a wii and take a nand dump I just backup the nand then delete it off the mem card and then use the same card with the same settings on the next one [​IMG]

    JUST REMEMBER DO NOT LEAVE THE NAND on the card and ACCIDENTALLY WRITE SOMEONE ELSE'S NAND to SOMEONE ELSE'S Wii or YOUR OWN! it will screw yours or their Wii bigtime!
     
  18. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the insight, I have folders on my PC with the serials of friends/family's Wiis that I have done so it won't get mixed up. But nice to know I do not need to backup the BootMii folder and inside contents everytime.
     
  19. azeazezar

    Newcomer azeazezar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Belgium
    If you get a 0 MB nand file, it becouse you didnt let it finish verification. Its a known bug.
    Format your SD card and try again.
     

Share This Page