Android Question about android cellphone.

Dymlos

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Hello,

I am really new to cellphones and I have a few questions.

If I buy a cellphone running on Android and I don't subscribe to any cellphone plans, would I be able to go online on my cellphone using my home wireless network?
Is there an app on Android to run MSN?
Anyone could recommend me some choices for android cellphones? I would mostly use it for MSN (if there are any MSN apps) and Kongregate Arcade app.

Thanks in advance.

Dymlos

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
So this mean I could basically use the internet browser, the android store and all the apps I get in the store using my home network and use my phone as a portable MSN device in my house without subscribing to any cellphone plan? Sorry for asking again, I just want to be sure because this is a big purchase for me.

Oh and what is the latest version of Android? I don't want to buy a too much outdate phone.

Thanks alot.

Originality

Chibi-neko
Trophies
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
Country
Yes, you don't even need a SIM card inside to use it as a smartphone or handheldntablet.

The latest version of Android is 3.1, which to my knowledge is only available on the ASUS Eee Pad Transformer. The latest version for smartphones is 2.3 (gingerbread). If the phone is fully routable, you can just install a custom ROM for it, such as the latest version of CyanogenMod. Don't worry so much on what version of android it has, just the specs it has.

ProtoKun7

GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 4
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
If you want to use Messenger/internet while you're out and away from any WiFi networks though, you will need a data connection, obviously, but in range of your home connection you'll be fine.

CarbonX13

GBAtemp 台灣人
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Taiwan