Quake live at school

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by dudenator, Dec 17, 2009.

Dec 17, 2009

Quake live at school by dudenator at 4:36 PM (3,519 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. dudenator
    OP

    Member dudenator King of the Carts

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Location:
    Alberta
    Country:
    Canada
    I was at school trying to play quake live but it wouldn't work. Firefox won't install the plaugin. Do I have to be an administrator? Please help.
     
  2. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    You can get a portable version that doesn't need to be installed. Just a warning, you can get kicked out of school for that.
     
  3. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you have a flashdrive, go home, install Firefox Portable on it and install the plugins directly on your flashdrive.
    That's what I did. Plus I installed a few games I have on it, so now I have games portable [​IMG]
     
  4. jakey103

    Newcomer jakey103 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You wouldn't get kicked out, but you might get in trouble.
     
  5. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on the rules of the school. (playing devil's advocate on the school's behalf-) There could be MAJOR malicious intent behind it, and if they've had problems with flashdrive's in the past, it could be serious to try anything like that.

    So, it IS possible, but that's a worst-case scenario.

    I'd try to find out more of the penalties to using flashdrive-based software before just jumping in. (i mean, ask around, see if there's any info about it anywhere... don't ask any authoritative figure... that would be a bad idea [​IMG])
     
  6. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    School's for work not silly games.
     
  7. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    It's true! Once you're out of school, then work is for silly games. (hey, that's where i am right now. however, December is our dead month, so EVERYONE is surfing the net [​IMG])
     
  8. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm surprised you guys can even run .exes in your school. My Academy's nerfed the internet and locked down all the running of exes from My Documents and flash drives.
     
  9. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Most plugins for firefox don't require admin privileges.

    Not really worth getting into trouble over, is it? Just game at home. [​IMG]
     
  10. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    get freeware games that dont require installation and copy it to a USB.
    Done.
     

Share This Page