Python

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Sora de Eclaune, Jun 3, 2011.

Jun 3, 2011

Python by Sora de Eclaune at 6:26 AM (620 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

1. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

United States
    I was going to make a visual novel with Ren'py, so I started learning the Python programming language, but in the end it turned out that Ren'py wasn't what I wanted to use at all. It did not have all of the features I was looking for.

How exactly would I get started in making a visual novel from scratch, and for the Nintendo DS (or at least able to be converted to work on the Nintendo DS somehow)? I was looking to make a little visual novel with more than sound, images, and text... With video and RPG elements and inventory, as well.

My grasp of the language right now isn't all that great, but I assure you that I can at least work with most anything you give me.

2. Hells Malice

Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

Canada
    Ren'py can do the things you described (videos and RPG elements), as far as I know. I started a visual novel on it (still in the planning stages, i'm still at a loss for visuals). It's pretty packed with features.

As for making a VN for the DS, I have no idea unfortunately.

I'm sure you probably did, but did you check out Ren'pys tutorial? It's handy and makes things seem so simple.

3. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

United States

I have tried working with Ren'py, but a lot of the times when I needed full-screen elements, it would either ignore the command altogether or glitch the visual novel to the point that the only way to fix that was to take out the command. I checked multiple times that my code wasn't having any conflicts, but I couldn't find any reason for the glitching.