Purchasing a PSP Go

Discussion in 'PSP - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by zygie, Jul 25, 2011.

Jul 25, 2011

Purchasing a PSP Go by zygie at 10:11 AM (956 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

1. zygie
    OP

Member zygie GBAtemp Regular

Philippines
    Hey 'temp. I've decided to buy a PSP Go. This will be my first Sony handheld so I'm pretty new at this. There are only a handful of PSP titles I want to play, so my primary use will be playing PSX games and emulating the GBA and SNES systems. No plans on buying any UMDs for now either, too poor right now as a foreign student. I'm located at Bangkok, Thailand right now, so I can't hope for used/refurbished items that much, and I've set my mind on a brand new system anyway. So off to the questions:

1) Any reason I'd choose a PSP 3000 over the Go? They're pretty much the same price (albeit different stores, some have a higher price on the Go, some have it on the 3000) at approximately $185. Went to almost 10 stores and the lowest price range is about that. Some do have it at $200-$220 so screw them. The Go also has that sweet 16GB internal memory and I could pretty much install CFW and play GBA/SNES games that I already have. I have pretty shitty net so I'm not hoping on being able to download 1GB+ PSP games. Oh and they don't bundle any Memory Sticks on the 3000 either.

2) Any particular PSP region I should avoid? Or recommend getting? The store in which I expressed interest had a NA-region on it, if Wikipedia is correct that a device code ending in "1" is a NA unit. (0 - Japan, etc)

3) So far, there hasn't been any Go shipped with more than a 5.70 OFW right? To be sure, I should check still, but yeah, had to throw that one in.

That's it for now, I'll ask some more if I think of it. Thanks.

2. prowler

Member prowler Sony

United Kingdom