Punch-Out not working

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by assassincy, Jun 29, 2009.

Jun 29, 2009

Punch-Out not working by assassincy at 10:44 AM (1,098 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. assassincy
    OP

    Newcomer assassincy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi.

    So I've got a 3.1J and i've installed cIOS rev 13 and I still cannot get Punch-Out to work on gamma backup loader with 002 fix.


    The latest games i've got working prior to Punch-Out is X-Men Origins : Wolverine, and also MadWorld.

    Does anybody know what else I need to get this game to work? I desperately need solutions!

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. TCJJ

    Member TCJJ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I would be using cIOSCORP and Preloader .28 (NOT .29) to launch from the disc channel. See, the gammer loader is 1) old and 2) must have the ISO files on the discs set to ISO249. There's a patcher program, but if you use cIOSCORP and Preloader, you don't need to worry about what IOS the game is on.
     
  3. assassincy
    OP

    Newcomer assassincy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the info.

    So i wanna try and get preloader on my wii, but I have a question to ask about the 'hacks.ini' part. So i'm trying to create it using the creator, but there's only 2 options in terms of the regions that I can choose. These are PAL and NTSC-U. So my question is, can I use the NTSC-U option when I have a NTSC-J?
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Japanese Wii + Punch Out NTSC-U or PAL?

    You have 2 ways to do it:
    1. Change the region of your Wii to US or PAL(not recommend).
    2. Use a loader with Country String patching (NeoGamma for example)
     
  5. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should think about using a USBLoader if play alot of out of region games. Which im guessing you do?

    I get alot less problems than I did when i was using DVD-R's
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    No he doesn't. And the problem here is that it's a japanese Wii.
     
  7. assassincy
    OP

    Newcomer assassincy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Australia

    Ok thanks...i'll have a look into NeoGamma. I have Punch Out NTSC-U. I always get NTSC version of games unless there's only PAL releases.

    But do you think you could also assist me on the preloader question on my 2nd post?
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I never even downloaded preloader, i can't help with that.
     
  9. assassincy
    OP

    Newcomer assassincy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks bro. My Punch-Out seems to be working now!
     
  10. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I really don't think so. Don't try (but normally preloader will refuse)
    Patch are systemmenu specific (version and region) so you'll brick. Maybe search for NTSC-JAP hack on GBAtemp (or you can try to change region with AnyRegion Changer, I've test it it work great but not don't play: it can brick!)
     

Share This Page