PSP Custom Firmware

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by CheatingSoi, May 11, 2008.

May 11, 2008

PSP Custom Firmware by CheatingSoi at 8:45 PM (1,808 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. CheatingSoi
    OP

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so, I've has a psp phat a few years a go and sold it cuz it got boring, then a year or 2 later i bought another one and now its getting boring again. The only way I could find a psp fun to use is if it had custom firmware on it. I want a PSP slim and I want custom firmware on it but I dont know the best way to go about doing this. Would it be best to buy an already modded one on ebay or buy a psp, then send it into someone on ebay so they can mod it for me or should I buy one and do it myself. Thing is, I dont know if it is possible to downgrade the firmware on a brand new psp slim and I also dont really know what to buy if I was going to do it myslef.
     
  2. GbaDoctor

    Member GbaDoctor GbaTemp MaD fOrGeD DoCtOr

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Rome
    Country:
    Italy
    Well, things aint so easy for first timers, thats for sure.
    PSP hacking evolves around the concept of Pandora's sticks and batteries, using in conjuction Dark alex tools such Despertar del Cementerio V5.

    I would go personally for a PSP Slim, not the phat one. There are plenty of reasons:

    first of all, is the only model with 64mb onboard, while phat have 32mb.
    second, it got an UMD Cache option wich cuts dramatically loading times: eg in Crisis Core, there are zero loading times for battles, while on phat it takes up to 20 second.
    third, alot of applications are using the 64mb ram: eg MVSpsp (neogeo AES/MVS emulator) , cps2 and cps1 now doesnt need cache files. Just put the roms in roms folder and ure sorted (mvspsp still need to cache some roms, but only 10 so far, the bigger ones).

    also the slim offers the ability to output the psp screen on a tv lcd via composite, s-video or component.

    Using a plugin for CFW called FuSa you can even output fullscreen image and games on ur tv set.

    Now, for the hacking part:

    - Pandora battery and Memorystick can be created ONLY from a Custom Firmware enabled PSP.
    - Pandoras batteries are standard batteries (so even the one in the psp you will buy is ok) converted to trigger service mode menu on boot. They can be converted back if you want.
    - Same applies for memorystick, theres a limit tho: only sticks up to 2gb, bigger than 128mb.

    The best thing u can do is to buy and already modded PSP, or just hunt down someone in ur area that can mod it for u.

    Oh, regarding the original question: with a pandora battery and stick is possible to downgrade EVERY PSP, no matter what firmware they got, since is completely made without accessing the O.S. via service mode. Its more like a format and install of a fresh OS.

    Hope this shred some light for ya, cheers.
     
  3. drock360

    Member drock360 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a lot GbaDoctor. I learned a lot from your post.

    You can actually use a stick up to 4gb. 8gb sticks won't work though.
     
  4. CheatingSoi
    OP

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, that was very helpful, it would be a lot cheaper to do it myself but I dont know the first thing about modding so I doubt I could get it to work. Best off just buying an already modded system. I'll look around. If I buy one is it possible to upgrade to a new custom firmware without using Pandora's battery and magic memory stick?
     
  5. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it is.
     
  6. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Don't bother buying a modded PSP unless it is less than $10 more than retail. $10+memorystick you'll need anyway will get you to CFW in 10 minutes (well, with Dealextreme's shipping...2-4 weeks)
     
  7. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well if youre allready are on Custom firmware then its just putting some files on your Memory stick and run the update trough the Game menu.
     
  8. GbaDoctor

    Member GbaDoctor GbaTemp MaD fOrGeD DoCtOr

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Rome
    Country:
    Italy
    4gb sticks have reported a huge amount of errors into creating a pandora stick, so to be safe ive just said that imho 2gb is the best. A bad corrupted file, althought it can look legit to the installer can seriously brick the psp.
    Thats all, i advice max the 2gbs ones.
     
  9. Shyn

    Member Shyn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Not to nitpick, but Pandora's battery/Memory sticks don't require a custom firmware psp.
    The memory stick can be made on a PC, and the battery can be easily hardmodded and converted back (I use the 2 solder point method, but instead of soldering I tape a wire down to the solder points.)
    I think it was fairly easy to put CFW on my psp, using ediblebird's guide, and it saves money.
     
  10. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, I used TotalNewbi Easy Installer and worked fine, and that doesn't need a Custom Firmware PSP.
    Pandora's battery can either be hardmodded or if you're nervous about modding a battery you could buy one from Amazon called a Datel TOOL Battery.
    Worked fine for me, playing a GBA Emulator on 3.90 M33-3 right now [​IMG]
     
  11. Jay Boy

    Member Jay Boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Country:
    Canada

Share This Page