PSP 6.35 PRO restart problem

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by desam57, Jan 9, 2011.

Jan 9, 2011

PSP 6.35 PRO restart problem by desam57 at 7:23 AM (2,160 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. desam57
    OP

    Newcomer desam57 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    i have a problem, every time i restart my 6.35 PRO cfw psp it goes back to the official 6.35 firmware. does anyone know why?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Because it's not a CFW, it's just a HEN. That's how HENs work.

    They only reside in memory, so if the system shuts down it's cleared.

    5.03, 6.20, 6.31, 6.35, all the HENs work like that.
     
  3. desam57
    OP

    Newcomer desam57 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    thanks. so can i turn my hen to a cfw?
     
  4. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Are you sure you want that? The odds of a brick go up substantially with custom firmware. I'm not insisting you avoid cfw, just that you know the risk.

    Edit: Rydian* says there's no cfw on 6.20, so it's a moot point for you [​IMG] But if the option comes up in the future, I recommend staying away from cfw -- just my opinion. You see people complaining about bricked consoles all the time on this site.

    *Rydian knows his stuff
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    There's no CFW past 5.50.

    What exact PSP model do you have? There's no permanent firmware for the Go or 3000.
     
  6. desam57
    OP

    Newcomer desam57 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i have a year warranty with best buy ill take the risk
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If you bought it within the year then you cannot install CFW onto it, sorry. It's a 04G or 05G motherboard, and they can't handle a firmware low enough.
     
  8. desam57
    OP

    Newcomer desam57 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    i have the 3000 so i guess i cant get a cfw
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Correct, all 3000s and Gos cannot get a custom firmware.

    This may change in the future.
     
  10. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
     
  11. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    May void....

    Basically it means if you brick it updating with CFW and they can detect it you're screwed. Otherwise there are very few method for them to know....a long time ago it was mooted that the PSP had some sort of flash history marker system but no-one ever found anything concrete, so Sony have sod all clue what you're doing so long as you don't litter your flash0 and flash1 with clues.
     

Share This Page