Hardware PS5 M.2 support arrives

Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
4,267
Trophies
3
XP
6,491
Country
United Kingdom
R76hd5u.jpg

For those lucky enough to get an invitation to try the latest beta firmware, You can now install and use a M.2 NVME stick in your PS5.

https://www.playstation.com/en-gb/support/hardware/ps5-install-m2-ssd/

It seems like it's not as straightforward as the Xbox option as there are a few physical size limitations to be able to fit it in the slot with a heatsink.
Sony does insist you need a heatsink to be able to use it. Thermal throttling may be a concern here unfortunately.

The only stipulation from Sony is that it's a Gen4 NVME with read speed in excess of 5500MB/s.

From what I can see, the best options are:
  • Samsung 980 Pro
  • WD Black SN850
  • Corsair MP600 Pro
  • Seagate Firecuda 530
  • Gigabyte AORUS 7000s
  • Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus

Under storage you will now get a new section for your M.2 module assuming it is recognised..
QcQyMma.jpg


You can set the M.2 SSD as default for installing certain games and apps from now on..
HruoBCN.jpg


You can also move games and apps to the M.2 SSD. It only takes seconds per game at these speeds..
m5dm91E.jpg


The other main feature that is not related to storage is the option to now have 3D audio through speakers instead of just headphones..
eRWZXtd.jpg
 
Last edited by subcon959,

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
2,538
Trophies
1
XP
3,285
Country
Personally, I'd go for the Samsung in this case out of the three because of it's lower temperatures (compared to the SN850) and anecdotally my Sabrent Rocket 4 (non-plus) just died on me suddenly.

However, make sure to update the firmware on the Samsung since there's an issue with the Cache which a firmware update is supposed to have fixed.
 

Xzi

Arm Cannon Enthusiast
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
13,225
Trophies
2
Location
Spiraling Out
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
15,177
Country
United States
My internal SSD is a little over half full now, thanks to all the PS5 upgrades coming out lately. Would be nice to expand, but then again, that's perpetually true of my PC as well lol.

Personally, I'd go for the Samsung in this case out of the three because of it's lower temperatures (compared to the SN850) and anecdotally my Sabrent Rocket 4 (non-plus) just died on me suddenly.

However, make sure to update the firmware on the Samsung since there's an issue with the Cache which a firmware update is supposed to have fixed.
Is the on-board thermal solution of the 980 Pro enough without a larger heatsink?
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
4,267
Trophies
3
XP
6,491
Country
United Kingdom
Is the on-board thermal solution of the 980 Pro enough without a larger heatsink?
I've been running a 1TB 980 Pro in my PC since the last Prime day sale. It's a great choice but I did get concerned enough with the temps that I remember putting a third party heatsink on it soon after installation. Unfortunately, it's too big to fit in the PS5 so I'll have to get a slimmer heatsink.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Xzi

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
2,538
Trophies
1
XP
3,285
Country
Is the on-board thermal solution of the 980 Pro enough without a larger heatsink?

Can’t really say, especially since inside the PS5 the thermals may be affected.

Unless confirmed, I’d still put one on as a precaution.

I've been running a 1TB 980 Pro in my PC since the last Prime day sale. It's a great choice but I did get concerned enough with the temps that I remember putting a third party heatsink on it soon after installation. Unfortunately, it's too big to fit in the PS5 so I'll have to get a slimmer heatsink.

Off topic, but could you please tell me if have you been having any cache issues since the firmware update?

I’m currently deciding between the SN850 and 980 Pro for my desktop and I want to see if it was an actual fix and not a fluke.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Xzi
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
4,267
Trophies
3
XP
6,491
Country
United Kingdom
Off topic, but could you please tell me if have you been having any cache issues since the firmware update?

I’m currently deciding between the SN850 and 980 Pro for my desktop and I want to see if it was an actual fix and not a fluke.
I haven't had any issues with it but I'm also running it on a gen3 motherboard so I'm not sure if that has anything to do with it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Xzi and tech3475

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
2,538
Trophies
1
XP
3,285
Country
Looks like most of these will run about $250 (including heatsink) for 1TB. Found the 500GB Western Digital drive with heatsink for $140 on Newegg.

Make sure to check the spec, the different sizes can have differences between them within the same model.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,526
Country
France
if it's too big to fit, can't it be externally installed ? like with an adapter/extension cable/longer connector ? would it influence the speed too much?
It would also help with the heat ?
 
Last edited by Cyan,
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
4,267
Trophies
3
XP
6,491
Country
United Kingdom
if it's too big to fit, can't it be externally installed ? like with an adapter/longer connector ? would it influence the speed too much?
It would also help with the heat ?
That's an interesting question. M.2 extension cables do exist so it's technically possible although would mean you can't close the PS5 again. I'm not sure if there would be any impact on performance as PCI Express extensions are common for graphics cards.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,526
Country
France
I'm sure some people would cut their case without thinking and put an external connector so they can close the PS5, and easily swap their SSD when needed.
 
Last edited by Cyan,

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,145
Trophies
2
XP
12,158
cool, I have to say I'm happy that consoles are making a little bit of an effort towards end user upgradability without trying to lock down upgrades to overpriced "authorised" upgrades

That's an interesting question. M.2 extension cables do exist so it's technically possible although would mean you can't close the PS5 again. I'm not sure if there would be any impact on performance as PCI Express extensions are common for graphics cards.
yeah as far as I understand as long as you don't go absurd and chain 20 extenders together or use some dodgy tacky extension cable the extension cables have very minor impact on performance so I would imagine it should work ok
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cyan
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
4,267
Trophies
3
XP
6,491
Country
United Kingdom
I'm sure some people would cut their case without thinking and put an external connector so they can close the PS5, and easily swap their SSD when needed.
yeah as far as I understand as long as you don't go absurd and chain 20 extenders together or use some dodgy tacky extension cable the extension cables have very minor impact on performance so I would imagine it should work ok
Now that I think about it, I don't remember seeing any extenders that can manage PCIE 4.0 yet so it wouldn't actually be possible.

The PS5 will do a read test to make sure your drive can achieve 5500MB/s.
 
Last edited by subcon959,

spotanjo3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
10,894
Trophies
1
XP
5,169
Country
United States
Nah... According to this:

Seagate has confirmed its first PS5-compatible internal SSD, which will cost $170 for 500GB, $275 for 1TB, $570 for 2TB and $1,050 for 4TB

Crazy and not worth. I am fine with my GB. I am stick with what I am doing.
 
Last edited by spotanjo3,

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
2,538
Trophies
1
XP
3,285
Country
an update for a console no one can get :rofl2:

Funnily enough, where I work we’ve been regularly able to get them because of people breaching our ‘one per customer’ policy when ordering online.

Thank you scalpers.

Just yesterday we also had someone replace a ‘faulty’ one, but it turned out to just need a factory reset….so we may sell it discounted.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: