1. tomsek68

    OP tomsek68 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Hungary
    Sourced from local marketplace for cheap.
    Power supply is trash. Someone tried to "fix" it.

    The main board has no _apparent_ sign of damage. When pressing the power button (5VSB, GND, ACIN_DET&STBY present from ps4 slim psu) no beeps/lights appear. When introducing the 12v to the main board the PSU cuts off. Seems like an active short.

    Any advice?
     
  2. MadMaxGR

    MadMaxGR Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Following the topic. I have the same issue.

    Sent from my MI MAX 2 using Tapatalk
     
  3. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    10,344
    Country:
    Portugal
    I think you can't. Here:

    https://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/315762/Playstation+4+will+not+turn+on+after+direct+power+surge
     
  4. tomsek68

    OP tomsek68 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Hungary
  5. tomsek68

    OP tomsek68 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Hungary
    Some of the PS4s have "reversed" pinout for the 4 pin cable. This means that the port is not consistent across all PSUs. Some boards have pins "near" to the board surface and some have pins "far". Will attach a picture later. This is why the PSU was cutting off.

    Realised this when I wanted to connect a SAD-002 to a PSU that shipped with a SAE board.

    Could not test the board tho, because I have already used some of the chips from it.

    PM me if you have a 2016 or later slim board (or pro) with BLOD for sale.
     
    Last edited by tomsek68, Nov 21, 2020
  6. WayOfTheRoad

    WayOfTheRoad Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Hello. I'm trying to fix a neighbors PS4 slim that they got for free. Similar issues, no power at all. Board not recognizing any power. This may help:

    So, I assume it's the PSU. Yet, I test it a bunch and it gives me a 12v line. Steady. Ok, then why won't the board show the 5v line anywhere?! Not even on the pin connector from the PSU to Motherboard.

    I dig around with my multimeter and it leads me to the little PMIC near the Southbridge chip. RT5069a (iirc).
    We both have nothing to lose so I pop it off with hot air and I suddenly have 12v and 5v...but I'm missing the other voltages (3v, 1.2v, etc) that should show in a few places near the chip.

    Then I dig into it a bit more and that PMIC doesn't just dole out the 5v but the others below it. I ordered a new one and we'll see when it comes in. Until then, you may want to look at it and see if that little section has caps that are shorting, etc. If so, that chip may be bad.
     
    Hologram likes this.
  7. tomsek68

    OP tomsek68 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Hungary
    Yeah, that PMIC is always on iirc. It supplies 3 different voltages: 3v3, 1v1 and maybe 1v8(?)

    I had a SAD-002 board, and it was indeed quite _sad_. Every coponent had to be replaced which was on the direct 5v rail. (something like 5 PMICs)
     
    WayOfTheRoad likes this.
  8. WayOfTheRoad

    WayOfTheRoad Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, man ...that truly sounds awful.

    I hope that's not what I have going on but we'll see.
     
  9. MadMaxGR

    MadMaxGR Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Cyprus
    My issue is with the correct psu version for the specific ps4. So it is not a design thing in my scenario. Neither the RT5069A or other PWM, but this could be useful info on other mainboards I have with powering on issues. I thought it was Southbridge fault on them, and didn't waste my time trying to replace anything else.

    Sent from my MI MAX 2 using Tapatalk
     
    WayOfTheRoad likes this.
  10. WayOfTheRoad

    WayOfTheRoad Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States

    Oh, I see now. I was slightly confused about what your actual issue was. My bad.

    Well, the part I ordered will be here in about a week so I'll let you know if I have any success with it in case that could help you at all in the future.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - (lightning, damage), lights