PS3Break Review

Discussion in 'GBAtemp Reviews & Guides' started by coolkingdeng, Sep 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Sep 8, 2010

PS3Break Review by coolkingdeng at 7:45 AM (8,826 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. coolkingdeng
    OP

    Newcomer coolkingdeng Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Austria
    Things you need

    • PS3 with Firmware 3.41 installed

    • A FAT32 formatted external USB storage with a copy of Backup Manager (manager.pkg)

    on it. (Copy to the root of the external USB storage

    • PS3Break Dongle

    How to use PS3Break Dongle,thanks [​IMG]for this review

    Step 1: Remove all the USB devices from PS3, make sure BD disc drive is empty. Power off the console, and connected the PS3Break Dongle to the PS3. Switch on PS3 again.

    For the SLIM Model: You will also have to remove power chord before plugging in USB For the FAT model: Switching the power off shall do.

    Step 2?Press the ‘Power’ button on the console and then press the ‘Eject’ button. You should notice a beep sound from the console. If PS3Break Dongle working properly, within few seconds the green indication LED at PS3Break Dongle will switch on.
    [​IMG]
    If the LED not switch on it’s not working.
    [​IMG]
    Step 3: Once the PS3Break Dongle loads, connect the external USB storage (with BackupManager) to the PS3.

    Step 4: Naviage to “Game Menu” and select the option “Install Package Files”. Select“manager.pkg” which will basically install Backup Manager for you.

    [​IMG]

    Install the “manager.pkg”

    [​IMG]

    Successfully install the “manager.pkg”

    [​IMG]

    Step 5:Back to Game Menu, select and execute Backup Manager

    [​IMG]

    Step 6: Select “YES”

    [​IMG]

    Step 7: Wait for few seconds for Backup Manager menu to appear?put in a original BD game disc

    which you need to backup and press “O”. You will be asked then whether to make a back up on the internal HDD or the external USB storage device.

    [​IMG]

    Choose yes, if want backup the BD game to external USB storage device.

    [​IMG]

    Choose yes, if want backup the BD game to PS3 build in internal hard drive.

    [​IMG]

    Step 8: Backup in progress, please wait.

    [​IMG]

    Step 9: After backup process back to Game Menu?and enter Backup Manager again.

    [​IMG]

    Step 10: To load a previously created back up, insert any original BD game disc in console then select the desired back up from the Back Up Manager and press “X” to play the selected game. Without insert any original BD game disc, message below will pop out if press “X”.

    [​IMG]

    Now press ”X” to play the selected backup game. You can also delete your previously created back

    up by pressing /\.

    [​IMG]

    Step 11: You will automatically be redirected to the main menu where you can see the game

    installed and ready to be played.


    [​IMG]


    Do not remove the PS3Break while you play the game. It has to be connected at all the times while

    you are playing a game through back up.
     


  2. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Well i suppose the price is kind of reasonable.

    completely off topic: what theme is that is the last picture or so ?
     
  3. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,353
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    this is awesome now cmon homebrew!! [​IMG]
     
  4. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    review without pros and cons? verdict, score?
     
  5. Snorlax

    Member Snorlax POSTMODERNISM

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It's included with the console.
    It's called airwrite, or something like that. :3
     
  6. Zerousen

    Member Zerousen 【=◈︿◈=】

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,948
    Country:
    United States
    Is this still usable, even with the latest update? My sister updated my ps3 yesterday ;-;
     
  7. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Do you have to do this once on the first time to install the nessecary files on the PS3 and from then just power on the console with the dongle inserted? Or do we have to do this on every boot up?
     
  8. RexNebular

    Newcomer RexNebular Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Every time. Removing the power cable might get tedious, so best to use a power board with a switch if you have a Slim.
     
  9. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry bud, but they all use the same exploit. So I'm fairly confident that none of the devices still work on 3.42.

    First thing I did was disconnect the Ethernet cable and tell my brothers not to update the ps3.
     
  10. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Only the power cable or does the Eject button also have to be pressed everytime?

    Is this also the same with the PS3Jailbreak and PSGroove?
     
  11. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    I have to agree, this is basically a glorified advert and contains practically no elements of a review. I was half tempted to just trash this entire "review" but after asking for the opinion of other staff members I have decided just to remove the two links at the bottom. The banner at the top will remain though, be thankful for that, but do not put those links back.

    This product is available from shoptemp at a cheaper price anyway. http://shoptemp.com/products/PS-JailBreak-...setCurrencyId=3
     
  12. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    You have to turn off the PS3 every single time so for a slim you need to unplug it. You also need to do the power+eject button to activate the dongle every single time as well.

    The exploit used here is the same as on the PSgroove. However, the PSGroove has eliminated the need to keep the dongle plugged in constantly, by removing the panic call when you unplug the device.

    Also remember the backup manager is entirely separate from the device itself.
     
  13. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    What does that last sentence mean in the practical use?
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The device itself is what enables homebrew and backup loading.

    The backup manager is separate software and it's what you use to back up and play games, but it cannot function without the PS3 put into dev mode (which is what the device does).
     
  15. Bloodlust

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Wait, so does this mean every time I power off the console and want to use the ps3break the next time I will still need to unplug & plug it back in? If I keep the dongle plugged in does this need to be applied?
     
  16. drenco

    Newcomer drenco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    CAN anyone give me some answers PLEASE if you have the games loading from an external harddrive what format does the hardrive have to be in? and can it support upto 2tb drive? thanks as i cant imagine games working from a FAT32 formatted hardrive
     
  17. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,353
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    psg doesnt have it's own dongle though
     
  18. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    I was referring to the many implementations of the PSGroove- Teensy boards, Smart Phones, N900, TI-84, Dingoo, etc. With these devices, unplugging the USB 'device' doesn't cause the PS3 to restart.
     
  19. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    If you bothered to read the FAQ on the PS3 forum, or even glanced at the 'review' here, you need a FAT32 formatted drive externally. This means some games won't work externally if they have any single file over 4GB (God of War 3 being one). Supposedly the next version of the Package Manger will support NTFS.
     
  20. drenco

    Newcomer drenco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks but believe it or not i did bother to read the FAQ aswell as alot of other stuff from all over the place so i must of missed it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page