Ps3 Hardrive Suttering Issue

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Kthekingk, Mar 25, 2011.

Mar 25, 2011
  1. Kthekingk
    OP

    Newcomer Kthekingk Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys so I a bought this hard drive about a week ago http://ncix.com/products/?sku=54088&...20Digital%20WD its a 750 gig sata 2 but I've heard it has the usual stuttering problem due to it being 3gb/s instead of 1.5gb/s! Does anyone know how to reduce the speed ? And i heard you can use wdidle3 to limit the speed but how do I hook up the hard drive to my pc to actually even do this ? Man Im confused [​IMG]
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some HDDs come with some pins. You can use a jumper to connect two of those pins which should force it to 1.5Gbs operation.

    As for hooking your drive to the PC, there are a number of ways that all involve the SATA II interface. Either stick it inside your PC using SATA, use eSATA, use an external USB enclosure, or use an external HDD dock. Once it's connected, the PC should recognise it as a HDD (probably in RAW format) and you can use whatever tools on it.
     
  3. Kthekingk
    OP

    Newcomer Kthekingk Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    My hard drive didnt come with any pins so I dont think thats an option [​IMG] . Is there any place where i could order the pins ? Or is there another way to limit the speed? Thanks for the help man
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is no way to order the pins - either they're there or they're not.

    I don't know if there's any other way, but in your first post you mentioned some tool. Try that.
     
  5. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    first you should put it on your pc and run "WinDLG" from western digital's site - full scan.

    never trust a new drive, you dont know how much it was banged around in transit between the factory & you.

    always do a full surface-scan on any new drive before you use it.
     

Share This Page