Ps3 + Ftp help required

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by shanefromoz, Mar 21, 2011.

Mar 21, 2011

Ps3 + Ftp help required by shanefromoz at 4:03 AM (521 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. shanefromoz
    OP

    Member shanefromoz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi,

    I have a ps3 and am using ftp to transfer files to it.
    I was using my modem/router with the network lead plugged into it.
    I bought a pcmia card gigabit ethernet card and plugged it into my tower,
    I plugged the network lead in and tried connecting to the ps3 but it cant find a ip address.
    I installed drivers from the card but still no luck.
    Is there sonething else i have to do?
    Do i have to change any network settings on the desktop or ps3?
    Thanks in advance.

    Cheers
     
  2. BloodyFlame

    Member BloodyFlame GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Is your PS3 connected wirelessly to the internet?
     
  3. shanefromoz
    OP

    Member shanefromoz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Australia
    No only ethernet.
    Works via midem/router but only 10/100 not gigabit.
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Your computer is not a router, so it doesn't give IP dynamically (DHCP) to connected devices.
    You have to set the informations to both your PC and your PS3 network devices manually.

    You could do something like this:

    computer side :
    In the network setting, go to your Ethernet device preferences, TPC/IP screen and set :
    IP 192.168.2.1
     

Share This Page