PS3 20GB Owners Here?

Marc_LFD

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
5,918
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
9,602
Country
United States
This is one PS3 model that looks really sleek and unique being all black. I think it doesn't have a HDMI port, but can be connected via Component Cable so it's not really an issue.

I've used a PS3 40GB and that hardly had any free space, so a 20GB HDD probably couldn't get anything done. Good thing 750GB ~ 1TB (or more) 2.5" HDDs are quite cheap these days.

Crazy that PS5 was shipped with a HDD of 667GB and games for that system are pretty darn big.
 

jellybeangreen2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
703
Trophies
0
XP
2,510
Country
United States
This is one PS3 model that looks really sleek and unique being all black. I think it doesn't have a HDMI port, but can be connected via Component Cable so it's not really an issue.

I've used a PS3 40GB and that hardly had any free space, so a 20GB HDD probably couldn't get anything done. Good thing 750GB ~ 1TB (or more) 2.5" HDDs are quite cheap these days.

Crazy that PS5 was shipped with a HDD of 667GB and games for that system are pretty darn big.
PS5 has an SSD not HDD. The cost of these are much higher than HDD, in turn also run ALOT faster than a HDD too.
 

krakenx

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
134
Trophies
1
XP
1,102
Country
I've got a 60GB PS3, and it has the HDMI port - I'm pretty sure the 20GB model does too. I upgraded to 750GB. It wasn't quite enough, so I'd probably go 2TB at this point. Should be around $70 these days. The SATA interface on the PS3 is slow, so don't bother with an SSD.

One thing that's extra great about the older PS3 models is the hardware backwards PS2 compatibility. Sure the newer models play most PS2 games pretty ok though the emulator, but even the Swap Magic straight up works in the older ones.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,467
Trophies
3
XP
29,233
Country
United States
you'll have major issues if you drop a 2TB hdd into the ps3. it either won't work, show incorrect space, or cause lots of file system errors. even 1.5TB hdds are kinda hit and miss. 1TB is guaranteed to work though.
 

Marc_LFD

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
5,918
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
9,602
Country
United States
PS5 has an SSD not HDD. The cost of these are much higher than HDD, in turn also run ALOT faster than a HDD too.
Yeah, I know PS5 (and Xbox Series S/X) don't have an HDD, it's an SSD, but it's kind of old habits.

I've got a 60GB PS3, and it has the HDMI port - I'm pretty sure the 20GB model does too. I upgraded to 750GB. It wasn't quite enough, so I'd probably go 2TB at this point. Should be around $70 these days. The SATA interface on the PS3 is slow, so don't bother with an SSD.

One thing that's extra great about the older PS3 models is the hardware backwards PS2 compatibility. Sure the newer models play most PS2 games pretty ok though the emulator, but even the Swap Magic straight up works in the older ones.

I've had multiple PS3 60GBs and yeah, they all have a HDMI port. Love the chrome look than the grayish 40GB/80GB have.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,467
Trophies
3
XP
29,233
Country
United States
all ps3s have hdmi. the xenon 360s, maybe zephyr (can't remember), don't though, but other than that, all 360s have hdmi as well.

the ps5 ssd is rated at 5,500MBs/s, so extremely fast. I only have one game for the ps5 right now, ratchet and clank, and I've played about 7 hours. 0 load times so far.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,467
Trophies
3
XP
29,233
Country
United States
I found this, but I misspelled zepher. I think I was right. it's the replacement for the xenon, opus for the falcon:

VXk4bRU51wfnEbjo.large
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,599
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,131
Country
Antarctica
Zephyr was sold in stores yep.
It's just the Opus (which is essentially a Falcon w/o HDMI) that was released exclusively through MS repairs as a RROD replacement for Xenons.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,467
Trophies
3
XP
29,233
Country
United States
I always thought the zepher was the replacement for the xenon and the opus was a replacement for the falcon.

btw, there are two models of ps5 that I know of. one has a smaller heatsink, which is probably what you'll get if you buy one today from a store. that's the one I have. the heatsink is smaller, but it works better apparently as they did some heat tests, and it beat the launch units in terms of heat, some by a few degrees, but one category was like a 20 degree difference.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,599
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,131
Country
Antarctica
Diagram only shows the plugs and power draw of each Phat console.
It's missing the slims and it misspelled Zephyr.

You severely disappoint me mate, shame on you! :c
j/k.

In all seriousness, nope, Zephyr was the one which featured an upgraded GPU heatsink.
The Falcon is the one which introduced the all aluminium CPU heatsink.
Xenon, Zephyr, Falcon, Jasper (and Kronos, if you're going to be nitpicky) were sold in stores and Opus boards are the only boards that got out into the public due to Xenon RROD repair (hence the lack of the HDMI port)
It's pretty rare? to have an Opus board, idk how many consoles actually got repaired instead of boardswapped...
I haven't seen one meself IRL tbf.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,467
Trophies
3
XP
29,233
Country
United States
don't know for sure, but afaik, the power cable for the slim 360s can be used on the ps3 slim (not phat as I think it's three-pronged), superslim, all ps4 models, and the ps5.
 

Marc_LFD

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
5,918
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
9,602
Country
United States
all ps3s have hdmi. the xenon 360s, maybe zephyr (can't remember), don't though, but other than that, all 360s have hdmi as well.

the ps5 ssd is rated at 5,500MBs/s, so extremely fast. I only have one game for the ps5 right now, ratchet and clank, and I've played about 7 hours. 0 load times so far.
I just checked online and the 20GB Edition did not have a HDMI port, so to get HD picture it'd need to be via Component Cable (or the PS2 to HDMI adapter if it works well for it).

h3anUBO.jpg


It's sort of a PS2 with a PS3 design, cute. Much like the PSX (a PS2 with a PS3 design).
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Don't get me wrong the normal music in Doom is great too, but the PSX one had a more hmmm stereo...