Ps2 play PS1 backups

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Jampashley1996, Jan 23, 2010.

Jan 23, 2010

Ps2 play PS1 backups by Jampashley1996 at 9:24 AM (5,225 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Jampashley1996
    OP

    Newcomer Jampashley1996 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I Have a Softmodded PS2 with cogswap and i can play PS2 backups fine, and i was wondering if there is anyway to play PS1 backups on my PS2 using Cogswap OR another method?
    any ideas?
     
  2. justinefremlouw

    Member justinefremlouw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Chi Town
    Country:
    United States
    if you have a fat ps2, you don't even need a mod, u just need an original ps1 game

    Go to the PS2 browser (where you see the memory card icon and u can copy/delete saves from memory card, etc), put in the original PS1 game, and a CD icon should show up, use a swap card to open up the tray, put the ps1 backup CD, slide the pin back with swap card, and select the CD icon. It should play ^^
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry, but isn't the disc spinning in this case? Also i guess, on most fat ps2s(all before V9), it will freeze on the playstation logo as the ps2 does a disc check at this place.

    I only know of this method:
    (only works on V9/10, maybe slims, don't know)
    1. Insert retail ps1 game
    2. Go to the Browser, let the Browser identify the disc as ps1 game
    3. Start uLaunchELF
    4. Make uLaunchELF stop the drive(spinning of the disc)
    5. Swap for the backup
    6. Select, boot disc, or what's it called in uLaunchELF
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    there was a special app made for ps1 backups like cogswap except it worked on ps1 games
    it only worked with a few later ps2 fat models
     
  5. Jampashley1996
    OP

    Newcomer Jampashley1996 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    how do install uLaunchELF to PS2? and how do i use it? (sorry for noobish question, but iv never even herad of it b4)
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You said that you have a softmodded ps2. By this i assume you have Free McBoot which adds a uLaunchELF option to your ps2 main menu. If you don't have Free McBoot, then look what it is, and the rest will be pretty obvious to you.
     
  7. justinefremlouw

    Member justinefremlouw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Chi Town
    Country:
    United States
    umm, after the browser identifies the CD, it stops spinning, I've done it all the time and it works. Also, my fat is below V9. Alternatively, you could do a force swap while it's spinning. That is, put in an original PS1 game, then as it flashes on the PS1 logo, pull the drive out with swap tool and put in backup. It should play after that...
     
  8. comfaithgenesisr

    Member comfaithgenesisr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Internet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there was an app called psx launcher its like the swap method but tells ya when to do each step plus you have lots of time because on the disc swap method its good but you need to be quite fast because it must be at the psx logo so if you can launch elfs psx launcher is the way to go

    Edit : Im not sure about the fat but for slim you need youre sensors blocked
     
  9. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    there is a COGSWAP.ELF that will launch either dvd or cd doesnt matter and it stops the drive from spinning so you can swap and restart the drive again when your ready
    Sorry my bad it notices PSX but doesnt load them but does load PS2 DVD i dont have a PS2 origanal CD disk to test
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    that was the app

    it only works on v9 and up
    no idea on the very new ps2 slims
     

Share This Page