1. Einstone

    OP Einstone Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hello,

    I have a PS TV that I usually put on standby instead of shutdown, so I can easily turn it on with the controller.

    The problem is that I have all the games organized in folders, having a lot of them (100+).

    But if I have a energy shutdown (sometimes happen in my country) all the games icons are appear messed...

    I tried o use Database Manager application, but with no luck... even after saving the icon layout, I still have this problem.

    Does anyone knows a way to save my game icons layout?

    Thank you
     
  2. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,626
    Country:
    United States
    backup the app.db in ur0:shell/db/app.db . that's the file that generates icon placement including folders.
     
    Einstone likes this.
  3. Einstone

    OP Einstone Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Portugal
    Thank you.

    I did like you said... but every time I backup and then restore the file, when I restart the PS TV it rebuild the database and mess the icon layout again... :(
     
  4. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,626
    Country:
    United States
    you're not using a vita app.db, are you?
     
  5. Einstone

    OP Einstone Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Portugal
    Sorry I don't understood your question.

    I'm using a PS TV with an attached external USB disk for storage.

    I place the icons as I want... then copy ur0:shell/db/app.db to somewhere else.

    When I pick the file from the backup location, put it in ur0:shell/db overwriting the app.db and then reset the PS TV, the database is rebuilt and mess the icons again.
     
  6. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,626
    Country:
    United States
    the app.db has folders listed. put the games in the order you want, then test if the system works by restarting. if it does, copy the app.db to your computer for safe keeping. tbh, it sounds like something is wrong with the hdd. if the hdd or sd card loses connection, it will rebuild the database.
     
    Einstone likes this.
  7. Einstone

    OP Einstone Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok, thanks I'll try that.

    But if for some reason the database is rebuild, it should be just necessary to overwrite the app.db using the backup and restart? It should not trigger a database rebuild, right?

    Because I think my issue is related with every time I change app.db triggers a database rebuild when I restart (If I do not restart I do not see any change on the screen)
     
    Last edited by Einstone, Sep 26, 2018
  8. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,626
    Country:
    United States
    unless you've done something wrong, it won't trigger a rebuild of the database. my backup app.db is how I get everything arranged again if I accidentally turn the system on without my flash drive inserted.
     
    Einstone likes this.
  9. Einstone

    OP Einstone Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Portugal
    Well, it did not worked.

    I had a energy shutdown, tried to restore the app.db and every single time I do it and restart (using vitashell to copy and restart) it rebuild the database...

    I do not know what to do... this happens every time I have a energy shutdown, because my external is powered by a USB connection to my PC, that does not restart automatically... but my PSTV restarts... and loads without the disk... after that I screwed :(
     
  10. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    608
    Country:
    United States
    Do you name your folders? Or leave them blank? I remember facing this issue when i had folders with no names, but ever since I've started naming all my folders, i can copy with database manager app no problems.
     
  11. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,626
    Country:
    United States
    folder names are in the app.db actually along with the position and page (locations) of each icon. folders have a page and position as well. I'm not sure about if the names are blank.
     
  12. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    608
    Country:
    United States
    Not in the app db, on your ps vita layout, did you name the folders after creating them?
     
  13. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,626
    Country:
    United States
    the app.db is the icon layout
     
  14. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    608
    Country:
    United States
    Yes i know but name them on the vita, i had the same issue as you and only way i fixed it was by naming all the folders on my vita and then backing up the app.db now whenever i restore the app.db it works no problem. Before i would not name the folders so i had a bunch of them with no names and i think it confuses the vita when trying to restore app.db with no name folders and that's why they get all mixed up.


    1. Make sure all folders are named after you're done organizing all your icons on your vita. Do not leave any folders unnamed!
    2. Back up app.db
    3. whenver you need to restore app.db, and it should work without mixing all the icons up.
    4. don't forget to update app.db backup if you make any changes to your vita.
     
    Last edited by kaymynd, Nov 4, 2018
  15. Einstone

    OP Einstone Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hi, actually I have a lot of folder and no name on them.

    I'll try name all of them and see if it works.

    Thank you
     
    kaymynd likes this.
  16. seeWood

    seeWood Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey, i would like to know the Same. How is it possible to keep the icons in Position when swapping the Cards.

    ur0:....app.db cannot solve it because it is always on ur0 (internal Partition) so my original Sony card access the ur0:....app.db and my sd2vita too.

    It must be a file on ux0: but it isnt the ux0:iconlayout.ini! So how to fix that?
     
    Last edited by seeWood, May 13, 2020
  17. eighthdayregret

    eighthdayregret fnerrrrrrrrrr!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    What firmware are you running? Enso or h-encore?
    Also, if you're using your external HDD as your main memory, but still have to boot into CFW when you restart, THAT'S why your applications keep getting screwed up.
    When you start your PSTV and the HDD is supposed to be what's loaded first, instead of a memory card, that would be your issue. Your PSTV is not seeing the HDD on boot. To prevent the issue you're seeing, you need to have a memory card inserted all the time, so when the PSTV boots, it'll see your properly arranged app.db.
    I swap. 2 SD2Vitas all the time, and the Vita never gives me the issue you're talking about.
     
    Last edited by eighthdayregret, May 13, 2020
  18. seeWood

    seeWood Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Germany
    Im on 3.60 Enso.

    But when you swap the sd2vita it rebuilds the database right?
     
  19. eighthdayregret

    eighthdayregret fnerrrrrrrrrr!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    On my Vita? No. Once I install a game, it's there.
     
  20. seeWood

    seeWood Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Germany
    Ok. I think it must be a file on ux0:

    i noticed that in ux0:bgdl/w/ are files that are marked by the date and time when it rebuilds the database. I thougt that these files inside bgdl are psn related.

    when i changed storagemgr from uma0 to ux0 it rebuilds everytime. (Not the same files are on both Cards). Only VitaShell, Enso and some other Henkaku related stuff are the Same.

    it is patch_bg.bin and patch_internal.bin

    Edit: i tried to copy these files with and without iconlayout, nothing changed. These 3 files are the only touched files in VitaShell with Date and Time from the rebuild
     
    Last edited by seeWood, May 14, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - layout, games,