Project: Transform a DSTT into a DSTTi

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by masterpad, Oct 2, 2009.

Oct 2, 2009
  1. masterpad
    OP

    Newcomer masterpad Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Cameroon
    [​IMG] ....With not replace through a flash process,as with the dstt fake recovery...A Dstt Start-Up O.S. By a DStti Start-Up O.S

    in order to boot a dstt on a DSi.....I dont kno who gbatemp team get the ".BIN" file of anoriginal DStt to solve the fake killer problem..............BUT WHY NOT DO THE SAME WITH A DSTTi AND A DSi..........................

    ................All my respect to the gbatemp team and may evrybody excuz mistakes in my english expression:wacko: ...I'm just a Cameroonian Who can not Command and get delivered a DSTTi cauz is too much expensive and impossible to be deliver in my country from asian,us and eurpean web site .and of course there are no linker on the market...........Thank's [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    SAY WHUT?!

    If you mean can we just update a normal DSTT with the update from the DSTTi card then this will NOT WORK! reason its a HARDWARE ISSUE not a software issue hence new HARDWARE releases of most cards out there to make them compatible with the DSi!

    If it was THAT EASY they would of done that instead of making NEW HARDWARE versions [​IMG]
     
  3. Chaz.

    Member Chaz. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Has anybody actually tried this though? It might be possible becuase the DSi doesnt block the hardware it blocks the kernal as I do recall. Have both hardware been been analysed?
     
  4. sumarth

    sumarth Newbie

    no, you never get to the kernel
    you get blocked as you try to boot the card

    if you can fix it, the only way would be reflashing
    otherwise its an hardware issue
     
  5. Acenima

    Member Acenima GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    its a hardware issue. the dstt wouldnt be able to work with dsi no matter what u do with the software sense the hardware wont work
     
  6. masterpad
    OP

    Newcomer masterpad Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Cameroon
    You don't understand me very well....
    remember the way to fix a fake DSTT destroyed by the fake-killer through flashing the card with a ".DAT" file..............file coming from an original DSTT why not replace the ".DAT" file by the DSi ".DAT" file

    I mean..........this file could be the "light"..............

    if i remember well it was "DUMP.DAT"
     
  7. Kevin242

    Newcomer Kevin242 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    I was thinking yesterday, why can't I run Wii games on my Gamecube? They might go slower, but the two consoles are very similar hardware... lol Nah I don't mean to disrespect the OP. It's just this is a silly question and thread. One good thing about the DSTT and DSTTi, is that they both are really cheap. Your best bet, find someone with a DS or DSL to buy your DSTT and use that money to buy a DSTTi.
     
  8. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Reflashing isn't that hard. It should be looked into.
     
  9. jruschme

    Newcomer jruschme Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    A couple of thoughts...

    1) Does a DSTT have enough flash memory for the DSTTi bootloader (i.e., is the DSTTi bootloader bigger)?
    2) Is a genuine DSTT reflashable? Or are only some of the clones flashable?
     
  10. aneotoena

    Newcomer aneotoena Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's you who don't seem to understand It's a hardware issue, It doesn't matter what file you copy or flash, you'd need to change the hardware parts of the original DSTT to work, sharing a file doesn't make them the same device.

    Don't be cheap just buy a DSTTi.
     
  11. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Actually its you who doesnt understand it isnt A HARDWARE ISSUE! at all.
     
  12. dnniwa485

    Member dnniwa485 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    the reason why there is DSTTi for DSi are:

    1. Hardware issue.. it wont boot cause of hardware being blocked by DSi. and also getting ready on DSi ware games to be dump using this.. but not today cause its not yet playable

    2. To Avoid fakes... DSTTi have ViD serials on the card (can be seen on DSTT's kernel)

    3. Probably, the compatibility

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    and dumping the DSTTi's BIOS to DSTT is impossible... DSTTi's bootloader is 4mib in size while DSTT is only 512kib..

    so answer is NO... if you're still unsatisfied.. why dont you try it.. and fuck up your card and turn to a brick DSTT
     
  13. masterpad
    OP

    Newcomer masterpad Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Cameroon
    THank's for informations about the differents size of the dtt and dstti kernel;THAt's a real issue on my hypothesis.................

    .........but i'm living in cameroon and i can't get a dstti........................

    SO I'M STILL LOOKING FOR ANOTHER WAY..............................
     
  14. Sarvesh50

    Member Sarvesh50 Aye!

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If u could flash the DSi maybe a dstt would be possible on a dsi
     
  15. Valguerra

    Member Valguerra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    United States
    Well I do not think is the hardware. More firmware. Cause if it will be hardware, than some of the old nds lite games will not work on the DSi. but the old original games do work on the dsi.
     
  16. Ace

    Member Ace GBATemp's Patrick Bateman

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,035
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Country:
    Sweden
    Jesus, this thread just gave me a remarkable idea!
    Can't someone with a DSi-compatible flashcart dump the DSi firmware with DarkFader's FWDumper?

    CLICKY

    Wouldn't we then be making a little progress in cracking the firmware so ALL flashcarts can be used on the DSi?

    Now, I'd probably try this myself, but I only own a normal DSTT like you guys and a flashed Phat [​IMG]

    Any thoughts?
     

Share This Page