Project 64 in Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by <Luke>, May 9, 2010.

May 9, 2010

Project 64 in Windows 7? by <Luke> at 10:14 PM (4,087 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. <Luke>
    OP

    Newcomer <Luke> Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I had no problem at all running project 64 in windows xp, but now that I'm on windows 7 ultimate, I can't get it to work. Everytime I start it, I get error code 8876086A. Then when I try to open a rom, it says plugins will not initialize. Can anyone please help me?
     
  2. geoflcl

    Member geoflcl Permanent GBAtemp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373
    Country:
    United States
    Odd. It's workin' fine for me.

    Do you have hardware acceleration enabled? How 'bout DirectX?
     
  3. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Try updating your graphics card driver and also make sure your directx is fully updated. Also assuming you have the same hardware you ran project 64 on xp as you do with Windows 7.
     
  4. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
  5. GentleFist

    GentleFist Newbie

    the problem doesnt lie in the os i tell you
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Take screenshots of the errors.
     
  7. <Luke>
    OP

    Newcomer <Luke> Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I found 2 things that might be the problem...

    1) I need to update my flash player activex. However, my computer says I'm an admin, but I seem to have no administrative rights. Therefore I can't run the installer.

    2) My graphics card driver to be updated. It says "standard vga graphics adapter". It says the chip type is "ATI Radeon 9200". I do not know where to download the updates.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Flash has nothing at all to do with project 64. At all. Period.

    The 9200 doesn't seem to have Vista/7 drivers. Who the hell upgraded you to 7 without making sure you have drivers for your graphics card?
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the 9200 drivers are issued by MS
    ati dropped support for it after xp

    I used to have the 9250
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, so if he runs windows update it should offer them?
     
  11. greenwatch200

    Newcomer greenwatch200 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
     
  12. <Luke>
    OP

    Newcomer <Luke> Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you so much greenwatch200. It's working now [​IMG]
     

Share This Page