Problems with usb loader 1.4

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kii, Apr 14, 2009.

Apr 14, 2009

Problems with usb loader 1.4 by kii at 4:49 PM (2,106 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. kii
    OP

    Newcomer kii Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I have a samsung HD501LJ with a spire gigapod II sata (sataII--->usb adapter) im trying to use usb loader 1.4 but this is always freezing(see picture)...

    My wii:

    System menu 3.2E
    Softmii 2.0
    Custom IOS36 rev 10

    I used wfbs manager 2.2.2 to prepare the hdd.

    Im confused [​IMG] , is the hdd not compatible? is normal to freeze in that menu?

    Thanks for the help!

    [​IMG]


    More info:

    Hdd:
    http://www.samsung.com/us/consumer/detail/...odel_cd=HD501LJ

    Usb adapter:
    http://www.spirecoolers.com/main/product_d....asp?ProdID=569
     
  2. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    mounting device just means its looking for the hard drive.

    Try plugging it into the other usb port on the wii.

    Also plug the the hard drive into the wii before starting the usb loader.
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    its a build-in timeout for slower usb devices
    you have to wait 30 secs
     
  4. Mrmatch

    Newcomer Mrmatch Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My HDD does the same... worked fine on 1.2
    it sits there looking for the partition and just locks up....
     
  5. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Mines done it a few times where it pops up saying mounting device and then just restarts the wii.I go back into the loader again and it works fine.
     
  6. kii
    OP

    Newcomer kii Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Try plugging it into the other usb port on the wii.

    Also plug the the hard drive into the wii before starting the usb loader.

    @icpmattj:

    I plug the hdd in other usb port, same thing happens

    @tj_cool:

    Can you put a download link in this forum?....very thanks
     
  7. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Try reformatting your hard drive to fat32 through windows.
    Then plug it into the wii and see if the loader can see it then.

    Mines been buggy a few times.

    Sometimes it loads up no problems at all.
    Sometimes it times out on the mounting device message and restarts the wii.
    Sometimes it give me the message that no wbfs partition has been found and asks me if i want to format one.

    Restarting the wii fixes the problem for me though.

    My hard drive was plugged into the wii right out of the box and was seen by and formatted through the loader.
     
  8. kii
    OP

    Newcomer kii Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I format my hdd to fat32..... i plug the device on the wii ..... the loader dont recognize my hdd..... its very strange!

    I have cios usb 2.0 is that a problem?
     
  9. kii
    OP

    Newcomer kii Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    bump
     
  10. kii
    OP

    Newcomer kii Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Well.....nobody can help me?
     
  11. DM357

    Newcomer DM357 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Format it to NTFS. or use a WBFS manager to get it to WBFS.
     
  12. kii
    OP

    Newcomer kii Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I already have the hdd on wbfs file system.... using wbfs manager 2.2.2!
     

Share This Page